More about:

Suspensions triggered by an accumulation of offenses

The RMV is required by law to suspend/revoke a customer's learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate if the customer has committed a series of major criminal and/or minor civil traffic offenses.

Overview

The RMV is required by Massachusetts General Laws to suspend/revoke your learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate if you have committed a series of major criminal and/or minor civil traffic offenses. These suspensions/revocations include the following:

  • 3 speeding tickets within a 1-year period

  • 3 surchargeable events within a 2-year period

  • 5 surchargeable events within a 3-year period

  • 7 surchargeable events within a 3-year period

  • 3 convictions for not having transparent windows

Suspension periods and requirements for 3 surchargeable events, 5 surchargeable events, 7 surchargeable events, and habitual traffic offenders run independent of one another. You will be subject to the conditions of each suspension/revocation action. The same violation can be considered a qualifying event for multiple suspension/revocation types.

3 speeding tickets

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 20, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate for 30 days if you are found responsible for 3 speeding tickets (including out-of-state offenses) in any 12-month period. This 12-month period is calculated back from the most recent finding/conviction date. The addition of another responsible finding for a speeding ticket can trigger an additional suspension/revocation, if it is the third in a 12-month period. These suspensions/revocations will be served concurrently.

Hardship license eligibility

A suspension/revocation for 3 speeding violations is not eligible to apply for a hardship license. This suspension is mandatory by law.

3 surchargeable events

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 175 Section 113B, the RMV will issue a suspension notice to you for the accumulation of 3 surchargeable events (including out-of-state violations) within a 2-year period.

You will have 90 days from the issue of the suspension notice to complete a mandatory National Safety Council (NSC) Course/Massachusetts Driver Retraining Program before the suspension/revocation becomes active. Within 10 days of receiving the suspension notice, you should receive an information packet from the National Safety Council (NSC). If you do not receive this information, you must contact the National Safety Council directly. .

The National Safety Council will electronically notify the RMV once you successfully complete the course.

  • If you successfully complete the course before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will not take any adverse action
  • If you fail to complete the course before the date listed on the suspension notice, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate indefinitely until you successfully completes the course

If another surchargeable event is added to your record, you will incur an additional 3 surchargeable event suspension/revocation provided 2 of the previous violations have conviction dates within a 3-year period. There is no limit to the number of these suspensions/revocations that you can accumulate. Multiple 3 surchargeable events suspensions/revocations will be served concurrently. The National Safety Council/Massachusetts Driver Retraining Program is required each time a suspension/revocation of this type is issued.

Hardship license eligibility

A 3 surchargeable events suspension/revocation is not eligible to apply for a hardship license. This suspension is mandatory by law.

Additional Resources for 3 surchargeable events

5 surchargeable events

This suspension/revocation has been replaced by the 3 surchargeable events suspension/revocation.

Effective September 30, 2010, the RMV no longer issues 5 surchargeable events suspensions/revocations. Any customer currently suspended/revoked for 5 surchargeable events must complete the National Safety Council (NSC) Course/Massachusetts Driver Retraining Program to be eligible for reinstatement.

Hardship license eligibility

A 3 surchargeable events suspension/revocation is not eligible to apply for a hardship license. This suspension is mandatory by law.

 

Additional Resources for 5 surchargeable events

7 surchargeable events

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 175 Section 113B, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate for 60 days if you have accumulated 7 surchargeable events and/or moving violations (including out-of-state violations) within a 3-year period, effective 30 days from the issue of a suspension notice.

If another surchargeable event is added to your record, you may incur more than one 7 surchargeable events suspension/revocation provided 6 of the previous violations have conviction dates within a 3-year period. There is no limit on the number of 7 surchargeable events suspensions/revocations that you can accumulate. Multiple 7 surchargeable events suspensions/revocations must be served concurrently.

Hardship License Eligibility

A 7 surchargeable events suspension/revocation is not eligible to apply for a hardship license. This suspension is mandatory by law.

Habitual traffic offender

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 22F, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate for 4 years if you have accumulated a total of 3 major moving violations or any combination of 12 major and/or minor moving violations (including out-of-state violations) within a 5-year period.

You may appear for a hearing at an RMV Service Center that conducts suspension hearings.

Note that surchargeable accidents do not count towards a habitual traffic offender suspension/revocation.

Hardship license eligibility

A habitual traffic offender suspension/revocation is eligible to apply for a hardship license if you meet certain requirements.

Additional Resources for Habitual traffic offender

3 no transparent window tickets

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 9D, the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate for 90 days if you have accumulated a total of 3 convictions for not having transparent windows on your motor vehicle.

The RMV will mail a suspension notice to your address on file stating that the RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate within 10 days from the date the suspension notice is issued.

Hardship license eligibility

A suspension/revocation for 3 no transparent window convictions is not eligible to apply for a hardship license. This suspension is mandatory by law.

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

Tell us what you think