related to

The HPC Accountable Care Organization (ACO) Certification Program

A program designed to accelerate care delivery transformation in Massachusetts and promote a high quality, efficient health system.

Pursuant to G.L., c. 6D, §15, the HPC is required to "establish a process for certain registered provider organizations to be certified as accountable care organizations." The purpose of the Certification program is to complement existing local and national care transformation and payment reform efforts, validate value-based care, and promote investments by payers in efficient, high-quality, and cost-effective care.

The HPC collaborated with MassHealth and other state purchasers to develop a certification program that aligns with payment reform efforts. The Commission voted to approve ACO Certification standards on April 27, 2016. Subsequently, the HPC developed detailed documentation requirements and an application system through which ACOs submit the required materials. This information can be found in the Application Requirements and Platform User Guide (PUG), linked on the right-hand side of the page.

In the spring of 2017, the HPC announced the certification of two ACOs under a beta testing phase of the application system: Boston Accountable Care Organization (BACO), and Community Care Cooperative (C3).

On December 29, 2017, the HPC announced that it has certified 15 additional ACOs.  The first round of ACO Certification is a significant milestone in the implementation of Chapter 224, and makes Massachusetts the first state to implement state-wide, all-payer standards for care delivery. Certification is effective for a term of two years.

To assist the ACOs in the Certification process, the HPC held a series of instructional trainings and webinars. On March 22, 2017, the HPC held a webinar for stakeholders to review the ACO Certification application requirements and introduce the application system. This summer, the HPC hosted two in-person training sessions and a webinar on July 11, 2017, that provided an overview of the application and detailed guidance on how to use the system. Recordings of these webinars, as well as additional instructional videos, can be found by following the link on the right-hand side of this page.

The HPC’s ACO Certification program complements its PCMH Certification program (see page here).

Questions about the ACO Certification program may be sent to

HPC-Certified ACOs

2017 ACO seal

Atrius Health, Inc.

Baycare Health Partners, Inc., inclusive of Pioneer Valley Accountable Care, LLC; and Baystate Health Care Alliance, LLC

Beth Israel Deaconess Physician Organization, LLC (Beth Israel Deaconess Care Organization)

Boston Accountable Care Organization, Inc.

Cambridge Public Health Commission D/B/A Cambridge Health Alliance

Children’s Medical Center Corporation, inclusive of Children’s Hospital Integrated Care Organization, LLC; and Boston Children’s Health Accountable Care Organization (Boston Children’s Accountable Care Organization)

Community Care Cooperative, Inc.

Health Collaborative of the Berkshires, LLC*

Lahey Health System, Inc., inclusive of Lahey Clinical Performance Network, LLC; and Lahey Clinical Performance Accountable Care Organization, LLC

The Mercy Hospital, Inc., inclusive of Mercy Health Accountable Care Organization, LLC; and Riverbend Medical Group, Inc.

Merrimack Valley Accountable Care Organization, LLC*

Partners HealthCare System, Inc., inclusive of Partners HealthCare Accountable Care Organization, LLC

Reliant Medical Group, Inc., inclusive of Fallon 365 Care

Signature Healthcare Corporation D/B/A Signature Healthcare

Southcoast Health System, Inc., inclusive of Southcoast Accountable Care Organization, LLC; and Southcoast Health Network, LLC

Steward Health Care Network, Inc., inclusive of Steward Integrated Care Network, Inc.; and Steward Medicaid Care Network, Inc.

Wellforce, Inc., inclusive of Wellforce Care Plan, LLC; Lowell General Hospital/Lowell General Physician Hospital Organization; Circle Health Alliance, LLC; New England Quality Care Alliance, Inc.; and NEQCA Accountable Care, Inc.

*Denotes an ACO with Provisional Certification, effective until December 31, 2018.

Additional Resources for HPC-Certified ACOs


Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.