related to

Water Resources Contacts

Find contact information for MassDEP's water programs around the state.

MassDEP's Bureau of Water Resources has staff in all four regions as well as Boston.

Frequently Requested Numbers

Program Telephone
Boston Office Fax 617-292-5696
Innovative/Alternative Technology 617-556-1036
Waterways/Chapter 91 Licensing 617-292-5615
Waterways/Chapter 91 Research 617-292-5929
Wetlands Mapping 617-292-5907

Enforcement Coordinator

Susan.Figelman@mass.gov - 617-556-1032

Drinking Water

Main contact: Program.Director-DWP@mass.gov | Phone: 617-292-5770
Emergency Response (24-hour, toll-free): 1-888-304-1133

Regional Contacts
Region Name Telephone
Northeast Thomas.Mahin@mass.gov
James.Persky@mass.gov
Melissa.Privetera@mass.gov
Nicholas.Zessoules@mass.gov
978-694-3226
978-694-3227
978-694-3403
978-694-3230
Southeast Richard.Rondeau@mass.gov
Charles.Shurtleff@mass.gov
508-946-2816
508-946-2879
Central Robert.Bostwick@mass.gov
Paula.Caron@mass.gov
Andrea.Lemerise@mass.gov
Purnachander.Rao@mass.gov
508-849-4036
508-767-2719
508-767-2723
508-767-2784
Western Deirdre.Doherty@mass.gov
Douglas.Paine@mass.gov
413-755-2148
413-755-2281

Program Areas

Program Location Contact Telephone
Consumer Confidence Reports Boston Marie.Tennant@mass.gov 617-292-5885
  NERO Thomas.Mahin@mass.gov 978-694-3226
  SERO Courtland.Ridings@mass.gov 508-946-2722
  CERO Robert.Bostwick@mass.gov 508-849-4036
  WERO Deirdre.Doherty@mass.gov 413-755-2148
Cross Connection Control Boston Otavio.Paula-Santos@mass.gov 617-556-1085
Groundwater Supply Protection Boston Catherine.Sarafinas-Hamilton@mass.gov 617-556-1070
Ground Water Rule Boston Frank.R.Niles@mass.gov 617-574-6871
  NERO James.Persky@mass.gov 617-694-3227
  SERO Scott.Sayers@mass.gov 508-946-2780
  CERO Kelly.Momberger@mass.gov 508-849-4023
  WERO James.Bumgardner@mass.gov 413-755-2270
Operator Certification Boston Michael.Maynard@mass.gov 508-767-2735
Private Wells Arsenic & Uranium Information Boston Joseph.Cerutti@mass.gov 617-292-5859
    Stephen.Hallem@mass.gov 617-292-5681
Public Notification & Emergency Boston Marie.Tennant@mass.gov 617-292-5885
Safe Drinking Water Act Assessment Fees Boston Kathleen.Romero@mass.gov 617-292-5727
Small System Assistance, Viability CERO Michael.Maynard@mass.gov 508-767-2735
Source Water Assessment Program Boston Kathleen.Romero@mass.gov 617-292-5727
Technical Services/Source Approval Boston Bruce.Bouck@mass.gov 617-556-1055
Underground Injection Control Boston Joseph.Cerutti@mass.gov 617-292-5859
Water Quality Boston Damon.Guterman@mass.gov 617-574-6811
Wellhead Protection Boston Catherine.Sarafinas-Hamilton@mass.gov 617-556-1070
Well Drillers Boston Stephen.Hallem@mass.gov 617-292-5681

Additional Resources for

Groundwater

Location Name Phone
Boston Marybeth.Chubb@mass.gov 617-556-1029
Northeast Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
Central David.Boyer@mass.gov 508-767-2823
Western   413-755-2218

Industrial Wastewater

Program Contact Telephone
Pretreatment and MWRA Sewer Discharges Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Holding Tanks Olusegun.Onatunde@mass.gov 617-556-1168
Surface Water Susannah.King@mass.gov 617-556-1147
Groundwater Marybeth.Chubb@mass.gov 617-556-1029

 

Regional Contacts
Location Contact Telephone
Northeast Martha.Bolis@mass.gov 978-694-3290
Central Giles.Steele-Perkins@mass.gov 508-767-2767
Southeast Robert.Greene@mass.gov 508-946-2826
Western John.Bourcier@mass.gov 413-755-2112

Massachusetts Estuaries Project

Location Contact Telephone
MassDEP-Southeast Brian.Dudley@mass.gov 508-946-2814
Cape Cod Commission Tom Cambareri 508-744-1234

Municipal Services - State Revolving Funds

Program Contact Telephone
Division Director Steven.McCurdy@mass.gov 617-292-5779
SRF, Northeast & Western Regions Donald.St.Marie@mass.gov 617-292-5709
SRF, Southeast & Central Regions Ashraf.Gabour@mass.gov 617-556-1076
Clean Water Act s.104(b)(3) and s.604a(b) Gary.Gonyea@mass.gov 617-556-1152
Clean Water Act s.319(h) Malcolm.Harper@mass.gov 508-767-2795

Residuals

Location Contact Telephone
Statewide Coordinator Jennifer.Wood@mass.gov 617-654-6536
Northeast Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
Central David.Boyer@mass.gov 508-767-2823
Western   413-755-2218

Sewers

Combined Sewer Overflows
Location Contact Telephone
Boston & Northeast Region Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Southeast Region David.Burns@mass.gov 508-946-2738
Central Region Robert.Kimball@mass.gov 508-767-2722
Western Region Brian.D.Harrington@mass.gov 413-755-2291

 

Sanitary Sewers
Location Contact Telephone
Northeast Region Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
Southeast Region Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
Central Region Robert.Kimball@mass.gov 508-767-2722
Western Region Brian.D.Harrington@mass.gov 413-755-2218

Stormwater

Location Contact Telephone
MassDEP    
Stormwater Coordinator Frederick.Civian@mass.gov 617-292-5821
Northeast Region Thomas.Maguire@mass.gov 617-292-5602
Southeast Region David.Burns@mass.gov 508-946-2738
Western Region Robert.J.McCollum@mass.gov 413-755-2138
EPA Region I    
Regional Coordinator & MS4 Thelma Murphy 617-918-1615
EPA Multi-Sector General Permit (MSGP) David J. Gray 617-918-1577
Construction Activities Susanne Warner 617-918-1383

Surface Water Discharge Permitting (NPDES)

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Individual NPDES Permits statewide Susannah.King@mass.gov 617-556-1147
General NPDES Permits statewide Jennifer.Wood@mass.gov 617-654-6536
NPDES stormwater permits (not permits required under the Wetlands Protection Act) statewide Frederick.Civian@mass.gov 617-292-5821
Regional NPDES Contacts      
  Northeast Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
  Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
  Central David.Boyer@mass.gov 508-767-2823
  Western   413-755-2218
EPA NPDES Contacts      
Massachusetts Coordinator; individual municipal NPDES permits   Matt Hoagland 617-918-1361
Massachusetts Coordinator; individual industrial NPDES permits   Damien Houlihan 617-918-1586
Administrative Issues   Olga Vergara 617-918-1519
Discharge Monitoring Reports   Diane Boisclair 617-918-1762

Title 5/Septic Systems

General Wastewater or Title 5 Questions: 617-292-5673

Technical questions relating to Title 5 should be addressed to your local Board of Health.

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Community & Homeowner Financing Metro/Northeast Nihar.Mohanty@mass.gov 978-694-3237
  Southeast Maria.Pinaud@mass.gov 617-292-5808
  Central Stella.Tamul@mass.gov 508-767-2763
  Western Deirdre.Doherty@mass.gov 413-755-2148
Soil Evaluators & Septic System Inspectors Classes & Exams New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission 978-323-7929
  Corrections to DEP lists and questions about DEP certification Linda.Barba@mass.gov 617-556-1150
Innovative and Alternative (I/A) Technology statewide Olusegun.Onatunde@mass.gov 617-556-1168
    Sanh.Tran@mass.gov 617-556-1036

Additional Resources for

Wastewater

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Reclaimed Water statewide Marybeth.Chubb@mass.gov 617-556-1029
Wastewater Treatment Operators statewide John.J.Murphy@mass.gov 617-292-5867
Regional Contacts      
  Northeast Kevin.Brander@mass.gov 978-694-3236
  Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@mass.gov 508-946-2757
  Central David.Boyer@mass.gov 508-767-2823
  Western   413-755-2218
  statewide New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission 978-323-7929
       

Additional Resources for

Water Management Act

Location Contact Telephone
Boston, Northeast, Southeast Duane.Levangie@mass.gov 617-292-5706
Southeast (cranberry issues) James.M.Mclaughlin@mass.gov 508-946-2805
Central Susan.Connors@mass.gov 508-767-2701
Western James.Bumgardner@mass.gov 413-755-2270

Watershed Management

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Watershed Planning Program Worcester Kimberly.Groff@mass.gov 508-767-2876
WPP Fax Worcester   508-791-4131
Environmental Monitoring Worcester Arthur.Johnson@mass.gov 508-767-2873
Water Quality Assessment & Data Management Worcester Richard.F.Chase@mass.gov 508-767-2859
Cleanup Plans (TMDLs) Worcester Barbara.Kickham@mass.gov 508-767-2724

Waterways/Chapter 91

General Email: dep.waterways@mass.gov

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Program Chief statewide Ben.Lynch@mass.gov 617-292-5615
Regional Contacts      
  Northeast Jerome.Grafe@mass.gov 617-292-5708
  Southeast David.Hill@mass.gov 508-946-2730
  Central Hannah.Reardon@mass.gov 617-556-1134
  Western David.Cameron@mass.gov 413-755-2138
Project-Specific Contacts      
  Southeast   508-946-2800
  Central hannah.reardon@mass.gov 617-556-1134
  Western   413-784-1100

Wetlands

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Program Chief statewide Michael.Stroman@mass.gov 617-292-5526
Regional Section Chiefs      
  Northeast Rachel.Freed@mass.gov 978-694-3258
  Southeast Jim.Mahala@mass.gov 508-946-2806
  Central Marielle.Stone@mass.gov 508-767-2827
  Western David.Cameron@mass.gov 413-755-2138
General Wetlands Questions      
  Boston Nancy.Lin@mass.gov 617-556-1109
  Central Judith.Schmitz@mass.gov 508-767-2722
  Northeast Kimberly.Roth@mass.gov 978-694-3234
  Southeast Andrew.Poyant@mass.gov 508-946-2845
  Western Mark.Stinson@mass.gov 413-755-2257

Other State and Federal Contacts

Agency Telephone
Massachusetts Board of Registration of Certified Operators 617-727-3939
Massachusetts Plumbing Board 617-727-9952
Mass Rural Water Association 866-451-8099
Rural Community Assistance Program 508-297-5300x204
800-488-1969 x232
National Drinking Water Clearinghouse 800-624-8301
AWWA Small System Operational Support 800-366-0107
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Bottled Water 617-983-6747
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Waterborne Diseases 617-983-6800
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Fluoride 617-624-5941
Massachusetts Water Resources Authority 617-242-7110
EPA New England - within NE 888-372-7341
EPA New England - outside NE 617-918-1111
Feedback