More about:

Water Resources Contacts

Find contact information for MassDEP's water programs around the state.

MassDEP's Bureau of Water Resources has staff in all four regions as well as Boston.

Frequently Requested Numbers

Program Telephone
Watershed Management Fax 617-292-5696
Innovative/Alternative Technology 617-556-1036
Waterways/Chapter 91 Licensing 617-292-5615
Waterways/Chapter 91 Research 617-292-5929
Wetlands Mapping 617-292-5907

Enforcement Coordinator

Susan.Figelman@state.ma.us - 617-556-1032

Drinking Water

Main contact: Program.Director-DWP@state.ma.us | Phone: 617-292-5770
Emergency Response (24-hour, toll-free): 1-888-304-1133

Regional Contacts
Region Name Telephone
Northeast Thomas.Mahin@state.ma.us
James.Persky@state.ma.us
Melissa.Privetera@state.ma.us
Nicholas.Zessoules@state.ma.us
978-694-3226
978-694-3227
978-694-3403
978-694-3230
Southeast Richard.Rondeau@state.ma.us
Charles.Shurtleff@state.ma.us
508-946-2816
508-946-2879
Central Robert.Bostwick@state.ma.us
Paula.Caron@state.ma.us
Andrea.Lemerise@state.ma.us
Purnachander.Rao@state.ma.us
508-849-4036
508-767-2719
508-767-2723
508-767-2784
Western Deirdre.Doherty@state.ma.us
Douglas.Paine@state.ma.us
413-755-2148
413-755-2281

Program Areas

Program Location Contact Telephone
Consumer Confidence Reports Boston Marie.Tennant@state.ma.us 617-292-5885
  NERO Thomas.Mahin@state.ma.us 978-694-3226
  SERO Courtland.Ridings@state.ma.us 508-946-2722
  CERO Robert.Bostwick@state.ma.us 508-849-4036
  WERO Deirdre.Doherty@state.ma.us 413-755-2148
Cross Connection Control Boston Otavio.Paula-Santos@state.ma.us 617-556-1085
Groundwater Supply Protection Boston Catherine.Sarafinas-Hamilton@state.ma.us 617-556-1070
Ground Water Rule Boston Frank.R.Niles@state.ma.us 617-574-6871
  NERO James.Persky@state.ma.us 617-694-3227
  SERO Scott.Sayers@state.ma.us 508-946-2780
  CERO Kelly.Momberger@state.ma.us 508-849-4023
  WERO James.Bumgardner@state.ma.us 413-755-2270
Operator Certification Boston Michael.Maynard@state.ma.us 508-767-2735
Private Wells Arsenic & Uranium Information Boston Joseph.Cerutti@state.ma.us 617-292-5859
    Stephen.Hallem@state.ma.us 617-292-5681
Public Notification & Emergency Boston Marie.Tennant@state.ma.us 617-292-5885
Safe Drinking Water Act Assessment Fees Boston Kathleen.Romero@state.ma.us 617-292-5727
Small System Assistance, Viability CERO Michael.Maynard@state.ma.us 508-767-2735
Source Water Assessment Program Boston Kathleen.Romero@state.ma.us 617-292-5727
Technical Services/Source Approval Boston Bruce.Bouck@state.ma.us 617-556-1055
Underground Injection Control Boston Joseph.Cerutti@state.ma.us 617-292-5859
Water Quality Boston Damon.Guterman@state.ma.us 617-574-6811
Wellhead Protection Boston Catherine.Sarafinas-Hamilton@state.ma.us 617-556-1070
Well Drillers Boston Stephen.Hallem@state.ma.us 617-292-5681

Additional Resources for Drinking Water

Groundwater

Location Name Phone
Boston Marybeth.Chubb@state.ma.us 617-556-1029
Northeast Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us 978-694-3236
Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us 508-946-2757
Central David.Boyer@state.ma.us 508-767-2823
Western Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us 413-755-2218

Industrial Wastewater

Program Contact Telephone
Pretreatment and MWRA Sewer Discharges Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us 978-694-3236
Holding Tanks Olusegun.Onatunde@state.ma.us 617-556-1168
Surface Water Susannah.King@state.ma.us 617-556-1147
Groundwater Marybeth.Chubb@state.ma.us 617-556-1029

 

Regional Contacts
Location Contact Telephone
Northeast Martha.Bolis@state.ma.us 978-694-3290
Central Giles.Steele-Perkins@state.ma.us 508-767-2767
Southeast Robert.Greene@state.ma.us 508-946-2826
Western John.Bourcier@state.ma.us 413-755-2112

Massachusetts Estuaries Project

Location Contact Telephone
MassDEP-Southeast Brian.Dudley@state.ma.us 508-946-2814
Cape Cod Commission Tom Cambareri 508-744-1234

Municipal Services - State Revolving Funds

Program Contact Telephone
Division Director Steven.McCurdy@state.ma.us 617-292-5779
SRF, Northeast & Western Regions Donald.St.Marie@state.ma.us 617-292-5709
SRF, Southeast & Central Regions Ashraf.Gabour@state.ma.us 617-556-1076
Clean Water Act s.104(b)(3) and s.604a(b) Gary.Gonyea@state.ma.us 617-556-1152
Clean Water Act s.319(h) Malcolm.Harper@state.ma.us 508-767-2795

Residuals

Location Contact Telephone
Statewide Coordinator Jennifer.Wood@state.ma.us 617-654-6536
Northeast Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us 978-694-3236
Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us 508-946-2757
Central David.Boyer@state.ma.us 508-767-2823
Western Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us 413-755-2218

Sewers

Combined Sewer Overflows
Location Contact Telephone
Boston & Northeast Region Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us 978-694-3236
Southeast Region David.Burns@state.ma.us 508-946-2738
Central Region Robert.Kimball@state.ma.us 508-767-2722
Western Region Brian.D.Harrington@state.ma.us 413-755-2291

 

Sanitary Sewers
Location Contact Telephone
Northeast Region Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us 978-694-3236
Southeast Region Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us 508-946-2757
Central Region Robert.Kimball@state.ma.us 508-767-2722
Western Region Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us 413-755-2218

Stormwater

Location Contact Telephone
MassDEP    
Stormwater Coordinator Frederick.Civian@state.ma.us 617-292-5821
Northeast Region Thomas.Maguire@state.ma.us 617-292-5602
Southeast Region David.Burns@state.ma.us 508-946-2738
Western Region Robert.J.McCollum@state.ma.us 413-755-2138
EPA Region I    
Regional Coordinator & MS4 Thelma Murphy 617-918-1615
EPA Multi-Sector General Permit (MSGP) David J. Gray 617-918-1577
Construction Activities Susanne Warner 617-918-1383

Surface Water Discharge Permitting (NPDES)

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Individual NPDES Permits statewide Susannah.King@state.ma.us 617-556-1147
General NPDES Permits statewide Jennifer.Wood@state.ma.us 617-654-6536
NPDES stormwater permits (not permits required under the Wetlands Protection Act) statewide Frederick.Civian@state.ma.us 617-292-5821
Regional NPDES Contacts      
  Northeast Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us 978-694-3236
  Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us 508-946-2757
  Central David.Boyer@state.ma.us 508-767-2823
  Western Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us 413-755-2218
EPA NPDES Contacts      
Massachusetts Coordinator; individual municipal NPDES permits   Matt Hoagland 617-918-1361
Massachusetts Coordinator; individual industrial NPDES permits   Damien Houlihan 617-918-1586
Administrative Issues   Olga Vergara 617-918-1519
Discharge Monitoring Reports   Diane Boisclair 617-918-1762

Title 5/Septic Systems

General Wastewater or Title 5 Questions: 617-292-5673

Technical questions relating to Title 5 should be addressed to your local Board of Health.

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Community & Homeowner Financing Metro/Northeast Nihar.Mohanty@state.ma.us 978-694-3237
  Southeast Patrick.Rogers@state.ma.us 508-946-2779
  Central Stella.Tamul@state.ma.us 508-767-2763
  Western Deirdre.Doherty@state.ma.us 413-755-2148
Soil Evaluators & Septic System Inspectors Classes & Exams New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission 978-323-7929
  Corrections to DEP lists and questions about DEP certification Linda.Barba@state.ma.us 617-556-1150
Innovative and Alternative (I/A) Technology statewide Olusegun.Onatunde@state.ma.us 617-556-1168
    Sanh.Tran@state.ma.us 617-556-1036

Additional Resources for Title 5/Septic Systems

Wastewater

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Reclaimed Water statewide Marybeth.Chubb@state.ma.us 617-556-1029
Wastewater Treatment Operators statewide John.J.Murphy@state.ma.us 617-292-5867
Regional Contacts      
  Northeast Kevin.Brander@state.ma.us 978-694-3236
  Southeast Jeffrey.Gould@state.ma.us 508-946-2757
  Central David.Boyer@state.ma.us 508-767-2823
  Western Paul.Nietupski@state.ma.us 413-755-2218
  statewide New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission 978-323-7929
       

Additional Resources for Wastewater

Water Management Act

Location Contact Telephone
Boston, Northeast, Southeast Duane.Levangie@state.ma.us 617-292-5706
Southeast (cranberry issues) James.M.Mclaughlin@state.ma.us 508-946-2805
Central Susan.Connors@state.ma.us 508-767-2701
Western James.Bumgardner@state.ma.us 413-755-2270

Watershed Management

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Division Director Boston Rebecca.Weidman@state.ma.us 617-654-6612
Watershed Planning Program Worcester Kimberly.Groff@state.ma.us 508-767-2876
WPP Fax Worcester   508-791-4131
Environmental Monitoring Worcester Arthur.Johnson@state.ma.us 508-767-2873
Water Quality Assessment & Data Management Worcester Richard.F.Chase@state.ma.us 508-767-2877
Cleanup Plans (TMDLs) Worcester Barbara.Kickham@state.ma.us 508-767-2724

Waterways/Chapter 91

General Email: dep.waterways@state.ma.us

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Program Chief statewide Ben.Lynch@state.ma.us 617-292-5615
Regional Contacts      
  Northeast Jerome.Grafe@state.ma.us 617-292-5708
  Southeast David.Hill@state.ma.us 508-946-2730
  Central Michael.Girvan@state.ma.us 617-556-1134
  Western David.Cameron@state.ma.us 413-755-2138
Project-Specific Contacts      
  Southeast   508-946-2800
  Central Michael.Girvan@state.ma.us 617-556-1134
  Western   413-784-1100

Wetlands

Program Area Location Contact Telephone
Program Chief statewide Michael.Stroman@state.ma.us 617-292-5526
Regional Section Chiefs      
  Northeast Rachel.Freed@state.ma.us 978-694-3258
  Southeast Jim.Mahala@state.ma.us 508-946-2806
  Central Marielle.Stone@state.ma.us 508-767-2827
  Western David.Cameron@state.ma.us 413-755-2138
General Wetlands Questions      
  Boston & Southeast Nancy.Lin@state.ma.us 617-556-1109
  Central Judith.Schmitz@state.ma.us 508-767-2722
  Northeast   978-694-3405
  Western Mark.Stinson@state.ma.us 413-755-2257

Other State and Federal Contacts

Agency Telephone
Massachusetts Board of Registration of Certified Operators 617-727-3939
Massachusetts Plumbing Board 617-727-9952
Mass Rural Water Association 866-451-8099
Rural Community Assistance Program 508-297-5300x204
800-488-1969 x232
National Drinking Water Clearinghouse 800-624-8301
AWWA Small System Operational Support 800-366-0107
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Bottled Water 617-983-6747
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Waterborne Diseases 617-983-6800
Massachusetts Department of Public Health - Fluoride 617-624-5941
Massachusetts Water Resources Authority 617-242-7110
EPA New England - within NE 888-372-7341
EPA New England - outside NE 617-918-1111

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

Tell us what you think