All motor vehicles or trailers must maintain a valid registration with the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). Vehicle registrations must be renewed every 1 or 2 years depending on the plate type.
If you’ve purchased a vehicle from an individual, you will need to apply for registration in order to drive it in Massachusetts legally.
You must have a current registration to drive your vehicle legally. If your registration has been lost or stolen, you should replace it as soon as possible.
If information is incorrect on your title, or you need change information, you will need to notify the RMV and request an amended certificate of title.
You may request to change information on your registration at any time. If the information being amended also appears on the title, the title must be amended as well.
Find out how to apply for a title and register your vehicle that you purchased from a dealer.
The most convenient way to cancel your license plates/registration is online. You can also cancel your plates/registration at any Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) Service Center.
You may request one or two replacement plates at any time. The replacement plates will have the same plate number and be the same plate type as your current registration plates.
If you are moving to Massachusetts, you will need to transfer your vehicle’s registration and title to Massachusetts to drive legally.
If you own a vehicle or trailer and purchase a new vehicle or trailer from a dealer, you may transfer your registration to the newly acquired vehicle.
If you own a vehicle or trailer and purchase a new vehicle or trailer from an individual, you may transfer your registration to the newly acquired vehicle.
By law, you must apply for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle or trailer within 10 days of purchase.
Vehicle owners may request a replacement of their vehicle's certificate of title if it has been lost, stolen, or mutilated.
You need a valid registration to legally drive your vehicle. If you are unsure of your vehicle's registration status, you can check with the RMV.
If you are unsure of the status of your Massachusetts vehicle's certificate of title or accuracy of the lienholder information, it's easy to find out.
If your car meets the requirements of a limited use vehicle, you can register it with the RMV.
Vanity plates can be ordered for private passenger, commercial, motorcycle, livery, bus, camper or antique vehicles.