What is the Individual Mandate?

The individual mandate is a requirement that all Massachusetts residents 18 or older, for whom available health insurance is affordable, obtain and maintain health insurance that meets minimum coverage requirements.

Failure to meet the requirement may result in a Massachusetts state income tax penalty for each month the individual does not have coverage. The penalty will equal 50 percent of the least costly, available insurance premium that meets the standard for creditable coverage; however it also varies by age and income. To learn more about exemptions due to financial hardship contact the Massachusetts Health Connector. To learn more about the state income tax penalty visit the Massachusetts Department of Revenue .


About the Commonwealth Connector Authority

The Commonwealth Health Insurance Connector Authority is an independent public authority created to implement significant portions of the new landmark health care reform legislation. The Connector assists qualified Massachusetts adult residents with the purchase of affordable health care coverage if they don't already have it.

The Connector is an authority operated under the Executive Office for Administration and Finance and is overseen by an appointed Board of 10 public and private representatives. The Connector Board meets the second Thursday of every month. Board meetings are public.

The Connector administers two separate programs; Commonwealth Care and Commonwealth Choice. Commonwealth Care offers subsidized insurance to people whose annual incomes are up to 300 percent of the Federal Poverty Level. Commonwealth Choice will provide commercial health products to uninsured individuals and small businesses. These products will receive the Connector seal of approval certifying the product is of high value and good quality.


Helpful Resources

To get more general information sources, you can contact the Connector's general phone number, 1-877-MAEnroll, or to the Connector Public Information Unit, available through their general number at, (617) 933-3030.