The Boat and Recreation Safety Bureau coordinates boating and recreational vehicle safety programs throughout the Commonwealth. Our boating safety training course, called "Boat Massachusetts", addresses fundamental safety concepts and emphasizes the operator's legal and ethical responsibilities. It targets the boating novice, especially young boaters (12 through 15 years of age), who are required by state law to complete such a course in order to operate a motorboat without adult supervision. Additionally, safety and legal demonstrations are offered to groups of boaters, snowmobile riders, and off-highway vehicle users, with programs tailored to a group's particular needs. The Bureau is also responsible for the investigation of all motorboat and recreational vehicle accidents that cause substantial property damage, serious injuries, or fatalities.
Boat Massachusetts is a state and nationally approved boating safety course. See our current list of available courses and enroll online today!
Operators under 18 years of age must take the OHV Safety and Responsibility Course to legally operate in Massachusetts. Visit our OHV Safety Training page to learn more.
Legislation signed in August of 2010 (Chap. 202 of the Acts of 2010) brings significant changes to Massachusetts Recreation Vehicle Laws.