Massachusetts laws say how, when, and how much workers must be paid. These laws also give workers the right to time off work and the right to know information about their employment. These laws are called Wage and Hour Laws. There are both state and federal laws that employers must follow.
Click on any topic below to learn more:
In Massachusetts, all workers are presumed to be employees, and almost all workers must be paid at least $11 an hour.
Massachusetts law protects workers' tips and has rules about how tips may be distributed.
Most workers in Massachusetts have a right to 1.5 × their regular rate of pay when they work more than 40 hours in a week.
Workers must be paid on time and in full.
Employers must provide paystubs, keep true and accurate payroll records, and follow rules for employee personnel records.
The Massachusetts "Blue Laws" control which business may operate on Sundays and holidays and whether employers must pay extra to employees who work on certain of those days.
Most employers in Massachusetts must allow eligible workers to take meal breaks or to be absent from work for certain reasons.