All facilities notifying MassDEP that they are small quantity (SQG) or large quantity (LQG) generators of RCRA-listed hazardous waste are billed annual compliance fees based on the classifications they hold on July 1. Your facility is responsible for paying this fee and formally notifying MassDEP before July 1 if you want to cancel or change its hazardous waste generator status. Lack of hazardous waste management activity does not affect the requirement to pay the fee associated with the generator status for which you have registered. Annual compliance fees are $3,880 for LQGs and $645 for SQGs.
- Hazardous Waste Generator Status & Storage Limits
Your hazardous waste generator status determines how much waste you may accumulate at your site at one time, and how quickly you need to ship it off-site for recycling or disposal. As a generator of hazardous wastes, it is your responsibility to know your legal obligations under state regulations.
- Summary of Small Quantity Generator (SQG) Requirements, July 2014
A summary of your obligations if you generate between 220 and 2,200 pounds (approximately 27 to 270 gallons) of hazardous waste or waste oil per month, and/or up to 1 kilogram (2.2 pounds) of acutely hazardous waste per month.
- The Very Small Quantity Generator of Hazardous Waste (VSQG)
A summary of your obligations if you generate less than 220 pounds (approximately 27 gallons) of hazardous waste or waste oil per month.
- The Importance of Obtaining a Hazardous Waste Generator ID
You must register with MassDEP to obtain a permanent identification number for legally generating and accumulating waste, and must always use this number on manifests to ensure proper recycling, treatment, and disposal.
- Self-Assigning a Hazardous Waste Generator Identification Number
If you are a VSQG of either hazardous waste or waste oil or a SQG of waste oil, you may assign yourself a permanent identification number. Learn how.
- List of Massachusetts Hazardous Waste Generators - April 22, 2015 file size 3MB
file size 4MB
Permanent generator identification numbers for all Massachusetts generators of hazardous waste and waste oil that have registered with or notified MassDEP of their hazardous waste activities. Note: If data for your facility is missing or incorrect, or if you have questions, please contact: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Hazardous Waste Forms
Generator registrations, recycling permits, transporter forms, and more.
- National Hazardous Waste Manifest Form
All Massachusetts hazardous waste generators and treatment/storage/disposal facilities are required to use this U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) form when shipping waste.
- Waste & Recycling Laws & Rules
- Waste & Recycling Regulations & Standards
- Waste & Recycling Policies & Guidance
- Fact Sheets, Brochures & Other Resources
People also viewed...
You recently viewed...
Personalization is OFF. Your personal browsing history at Mass.gov is not visible because your personalization is turned off. To view your history, turn your personalization on.
Learn more on our .
*Recommendations are based on site visitor traffic patterns and are not endorsements of that content.