Division of Fire Safety News
The revised Comprehensive Fire Safety Code, 527 CMR 1.00, took effect on January 1, 2015. The revised code adopts the National Fire Protection Association Model Code (NFPA 1, 2012 Edition), with Massachusetts amendments.There have been several recent advisories on important fire prevention issues including legislation concerning blasting near natural gas pipelines, required inspections for liquor license renewals, permits for fire protection systems under the new fire code, NFPA subscription service for code enforcement officials, inspection of commercial cooking and exhaust facilities, and food trucks.
Fire Prevention Officer Credential
Fire Prevention Officer Credential The Department of Fire Services offers a multi-level training program for fire prevention officers. It prepares them to receive credentials for each level of the training from the State Fire Marshal - Basic, Level I and Level II. The introductory level - Fire Prevention Officer - Basic has an e-learning component. This program is the introductory level of our new Fire Prevention Officer Credentialing program and is designed to address the need of everyday fire prevention activities across the Commonwealth by providing information on basic inspections, smoke detector and carbon monoxide alarms, liquid propane (LP) installations and oil burner installations. The Mass. Firefighting Academy offers Fire Prevention Officer I training that leads to the Level I. Training that leads to Level II is currently under development.
The State Fire Marshal issued an advisory on the Fire Prevention Officer (FPO) Re-Credentialing Process to the Heads of Fire Departments on April 14, 2015. Please Note: Anyone holding a fire prevention officer certificate (Level I or Level II) showing an expiration date of 2015 or 2016 has an automatic extension to submit for re-credentialing by December 31, 2016.
Fire Prevention News
New Smoke Alarm Regulations When Selling Older Homes
No Expired Alarms; Replacement Alarms Must Have 10-year Batteries
Starting December 1, older one- and two-family homes cannot be sold with expired or out-of-date smoke alarms. The Board of Fire Prevention Regulations has revised the State Fire Code to require that one- and two-family homes built before 1975 must have working smoke alarms that have not expired. Working smoke alarms installed prior to December 1, 2016 (that met previous requirements) can continue to be used until they are 10 years old or have exceeded the manufacturer’s recommended life, whichever occurs first. Read the full press release on New Smoke Alarm Regulations. Realtors and homeowners can find out more on the Smoke Alarm Regulations page where they will find the Consumer’s Guide to Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarms Requirements When Selling One- and Two-Family Homes.
The Fire Safety Division and the Massachusetts Firefighting Academy provide on-going training seminars for fire prevention officers on important topics. Afterwards, the presentations are posted on-line.
Code Compliance officers are responsible for ensuring uniform statewide compliance with the laws and regulations the State Fire Marshal is charged to enforce. The unit can be asked to look into any matter covered by MGL Chapter 148 or 527 CMR 1.00. Code Compliance officers have statewide jurisdiction and are designated by the State Fire Marshal to support the regulatory compliance efforts of local fire department officers and to enhance our fire prevention goals.
Technical support staff provides fire protection engineering support, fire code interpretations, and opinions on the application of fire safety laws and regulations, and support to local enforcement agencies. Code compliance officers review plans and issue permits for the operation of aboveground storage tanks. The State Fire Marshal issues advisories to the public and fire professionals.
Please note: Effective July 1, 2009 administration of the Underground Storage Tank Program (UST) has been transferred to the Department of Environmental Protection. (Phone: 617-556-1035 Ext. 2)
Technical support staff are responsible for licensing of people and companies engaged in fireworks, blasting, explosives, special effects, cannon and mortar firing, commercial cooking exhaust system cleaning and inspection, special hazard systems and portable fire extinguishers.
All public fire and safety education programs are run by the Public Education Unit of the Office of the State Fire Marshal. They provide technical assistance to local fire departments, health educators, medical and public health professionals, classroom teachers, elder service providers, community and service organizations, and anyone else interested in collaborating on life safety education. Look here for a list of events and flyers as well as information on the S.A.F.E. program, Senior SAFE programs and Juvenile Firesetters Intervention Programs.
The Fire Data Unit maintains the Massachusetts Fire Incident Reporting System (MFIRS ) and the Massachusetts Burn Injury Reporting System (M-BIRS ). By analyzing this data, we can see what causes fires and burns, determine if problems are getting better or worse and develop appropriate prevention plans.
|Code Compliance and Enforcement Unit||(978) 567-3375|
|Licensing and Permits||(978) 567-3700|
|Western Mass. Office||(978) 567-3813|
|Fire Data / MFIRS||(978) 567-3382|
|S.A.F.E. Program||(978) 567-3388|
|Public Education||(978) 567-3380|
|Fire & Explosion Investigation Section||(978) 567-3310|
|Arson Hotline||(800) 682-9229|