About the Art Commission

The State House Art Commission consists of seven residents of the Commonwealth qualified by training and experience in public art, museum collections or historic preservation.


The State House Art Commission acquires, preserves and interprets the art at the State House; advises and advocates for the preservation of the historic building; and through the collections educates and promotes the ideals of public service.


The Art Commission was created in 1910 in response to the rapid growth of the State House fine arts collection. In 1924, the legislature expanded its responsibilities to include “care and custody” of all art and artifacts in recognition of the need for professional oversight of the increasingly valuable collection. Over the years, notable artists, architects, art conservators, museum professionals and cultural advisors have served. Today, the board’s responsibilities, as defined under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 6, section 20, reach well beyond the original mission to setting policy and implementing museum standards of care for the collection that is installed in the most public of settings, guiding the process for new additions, and serving on study, design and construction oversight teams charged with the preservation of the historic capitol building.


Paula Morse, Boston, Chair
Mary Leen, Charlestown, Vice-Chair
Donna DePrisco, Boston
Dawn Mahoney, Winthrop
Alison Nolan, Boston
L’Merchie Frazier, Boston
(seat 7 - currently vacant)