Apply for a Welcome Home Veterans' Bonus

The Welcome Home Bonus is reserved for veterans discharged after September 11, 2001; currently active servicemembers may also be eligible.
Most people receive their checks 4-6 weeks after submitting their application.

Contact

Veterans' Bonus Division Contact

The Details

What you need

To apply for the Welcome Home Bonus, your active service must fall between the following dates: September 11, 2001 to present.

Depending on your application, you will need the following documents to apply:

Active Duty Servicemembers

  • Completed Application Form
  • Certificate of Residency
  • Commander's Letter
  • Proof of Service
  • Military ID
  • DD214 (Discharge papers)

Discharged Servicemembers

  • Completed Application Form
  • Proof of Service
  • DD214 (Discharge papers)

In addition:

  • You must have been 6 months domicile in Massachusetts immediately prior to entry into the Armed Forces
  • Your discharge must be under honorable conditions (if applying as a Discharged Servicemember)

Please note: Active service shall not include active duty for training in the Army National Guard, Air National Guard, or reserves.

How to apply

If you are an active servicemember, your application will include:

  • Completed Welcome Home Bonus Application Form (Active Status)
  • Certificate of Residency
  • Proof of Service
  • Military ID
  • Commander's Letter

If you are a discharged servicemember, you application will include:

  • Completed Welcome Home Bonus Application Form (Discharged Status)
  • Form DD214 (Discharge papers)

If you are a family member applying on behalf of a deceased veteran, please submit the Deceased Veteran Application Form.

Mail your application and required documents to:

Veterans' Bonus Division
1 Ashburton Place, 12th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

If you have any questions about your application, please email veteransbonus@tre.state.ma.us.

Next steps

  1. Receive bonus

    Payments take approximately 4–6 weeks to process and deliver, via mailed check. Unfortunately, we do not have direct deposit services available.

  2. Appeal a denial

    You will receive a letter regarding your denied bonus detailing the reason(s) the application was not accepted.

    You are able to appeal the Division's decision. You must send a written request for an appeal within 60 days from the date of receiving the denial.

More info

Welcome Home Bonus Payment Amounts  
1st time active service in Iraq or Afghanistan (one time) $1,000
Subsequent Iraq or Afghanistan $500
1st time 6 months active service, stateside or outside the continental U.S (OCONUS)., including Alaska and Hawaii (one time) $500
Subsequent 6 months foreign service OCONUS, Alaska and Hawaii $250

Note: The law allows eligible individuals to receive either a $500 stateside bonus or a $500 overseas bonus.

Downloads

Contact

Address

1 Ashburton Place, 12th Floor, Boston, MA 02108

Feedback

Tell us what you think