How to See if Your Federal Student Loans are Direct Loans

If your federal loans aren’t Direct Loans, you need to consolidate them into the Direct Loan Program to be eligible for the Limited PSLF Waiver.


Borrowers can have several different types of federal loans, including Direct Loans, Federal Family Education Loans (FFELs), and Perkins Loans. To qualify for the Limited PSLF Waiver, federal loan types that are not Direct Loans (e.g., FFELs or Perkins Loans) must be consolidated into the Direct Loan Program by October 31, 2022.  

Here’s how to see what type(s) of federal loans you have: 

Student Aid Login
  • Scroll down to the section entitled "Loan Types." In the “Loan Types” section, you will see different categories of loans as shown below. 
Loan Types PieChart
  • Click on each loan category to see all your loans within the category. In the below example, there are two loans with outstanding balances. The loan circled in blue is a Direct Loan, which does not need to be consolidated. The loan circled in red is a FFEL Program Loan, which will need to be consolidated into the Direct Loan Program.  Carefully review each loan category to see if it contains loan types other than Direct Loans. 
Loan Types Breakdown

Please note that private loans are not eligible for PSLF or the Limited PSLF Waiver. Private loans will not appear in your account. 

Help Us Improve with your feedback