International Mutual Aid

Ways in which Massachusetts assists other countries in times of emergency or disaster.

Massachusetts can aid other countries which belong to the International Emergency Management Group (IEMAC).

International Mutual Aid

The International Emergency Management Assistance Compact (IEMAC) is a mutual aid agreement between the Eastern Canadian provinces and the New England states. IEMAC functions similarly to the interstate mutual aid agreement, but the Governor is not required to declare a state of emergency in order to request assistance through IEMAC. The signatories of the mutual aid agreement, which is outlined in the Commonwealth’s Chapter 300 Section 58 of the Acts of 2002 are Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont, Maine, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, Quebec, Newfoundland and Labrador.

Additional Resources

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.