Board Policies and Guidelines (Operators of Drinking Water Supply Facilities)

Table of Contents

Policy on Review of Criminal Convictions And CORI (Criminal Offender Record Information)

Policy for Drinking Water Exams

Training Requirements To Sit For Exams

Reinstatement of Expired DW Operator's License

Every drinking water operator's license expires on December 31 of odd numbered years; a two-year cycle. The Board sends out renewal notices in the fall before the licenses expire. However, please be aware that it is up to the individual licensee to renew their licenses.

Please make sure you have notified the Board if you change your address so that you will be assured of receiving the renewal notices. You may give an address change on-line or by mail.

How to contact the Board:
Phone: (617) 727-9952
Division of Professional Licensure
Drinking Water Operators
1000 Washington St., Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118

If a license holder does not renew his/her license by the expiration date, it is possible to re-instate the license if the following conditions are met. First, the licensee must write to the Board asking them to re-instate his/her license and explain the circumstances as to why the license was not renewed before the renewal deadline. Second, proof of all TCHs for that renewal period must be included, a penalty fee paid and the renewal fee paid. Third, the license must not have been lapsed for more than 2 years. If the license has been expired for more than 2 years it cannot be re-instated and the licensee must re-take the exam and re-apply for licensure*.

When the Board receives the package, they will review it at the next monthly meeting. The Board does not automatically re-instate licenses. They review the circumstances and render a decision. The applicant will be notified by mail of the decision.

You may review 236 CMR 4.07 which pertains to this matter on-line. Board's web address is given above. Official copies of the regulations are available at the Statehouse Bookstore 617-727-2834 or Massachusetts State Bookstore.

Policy for Renewal Training Courses



(617) 727-0139


1000 Washington Street
Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.