See the qualifying status change information below for information on adding a new spouse to coverage.
Divorce, legal separation, and remarriage scenarios
Updated May, 2019
If you fail to report a legal separation, divorce or remarriage, your health plan and the GIC have the right to seek recovery of health claims paid or premiums owed for your former spouse. Failure to report a remarriage in a timely manner will result in financial liabilities and/or cancellation of coverage to the insured and/or former spouse.
What to do when getting a legal separation or divorce
- Please send the GIC a completed Form 1 or Form 1MUN or a letter with your name, GIC identification number (usually it is your Social Security Number), address, signature, and your legally separated or divorced spouse's name and last known home address.
- Page with the date of the legal separation or the date the divorce became final, health insurance provisions, and signature pages.
- If applicable, also provide your new spouse's name, date of birth, and Social Security Number.
Divorced spouses and eligibility for GIC benefits
According to Massachusetts law, former spouses are not eligible for GIC coverage if the divorce took place on March 27, 1985 or earlier. Depending on the divorce decree language, if your divorce took place after March 27, 1985, your former spouse may be eligible to continue GIC coverage.
Removal of legally separated or former spouse from GIC health coverage
If the request is received within 60 days of a qualifying event or during Annual Enrollment, the legally separated or former spouse can be removed according to the terms of your divorce agreement. If the former spouse provides proof of other health coverage and does not wish to remain on the GIC's coverage he/she can be removed from your policy. See the Qualifying Event Chart for more details.
Former spouse eligibility - remarriage
If you or your legally separated or divorced spouse remarries, coverage for the legally separated or divorced spouse ends under your family plan, in accordance with state laws. This is true even if your new spouse does not need or want GIC health coverage. Depending on language in the divorce agreement, the former spouse may be eligible as an individual for a divorced spouse rider or COBRA coverage. Alternately, if he or she is a Massachusetts resident, he/she may purchase health insurance from the Health Connector (1.877.623.6765). If he/she lives out of state, contact the Health Insurance Marketplace for coverage information in that state.
You must notify the GIC in writing that you have remarried within 60 days of the event. Send a copy of your new marriage certificate, GIC ID number (usually your Social Security Number), and your former spouse's last known home address within 60 days of the remarriage to the GIC, P.O. Box 8747, Boston, MA 02114. If you have not already done so, please include the following sections of your divorce agreement: page with the 'divorce absolute' date (the date divorce became final), health insurance provisions, and signature pages. Also provide your new spouse's name, date of birth, and Social Security Number.
If divorced or legally separated from spouse and would like a separate address
Please send this request to the Group Insurance Commission with the following information: Insured's name and Social Security Number, your name and/or the name of your children, and the address to where you live and are requesting the statements to be mailed. If you have additional questions, call the GIC (617) 727-2310.