transcript

transcript Paid Family and Medical Leave Information for Workers

If you work in Massachusetts, you’re likely covered by the Commonwealth’s Paid Family and Medical Leave law.

Begins with an outline of the state of Massachusetts. Icons of different kinds of workers (construction, hospitality, office, medical, etc.) appear within the state.

As part of this coverage, you’re subject to payroll withholdings to help fund these benefits

On-screen text: “As part of this coverage, you’re subject to payroll withholdings to help fund these benefits”

Even if you don’t intend on using them

On-screen text: “Even if you don’t intend on using the benefits”

You’ll see these withholdings on your paycheck                

Picture of a check with “PFML...” and no date. On-screen text reads: “You’ll see these withholdings on your paycheck” 

The Department of Family and Medical Leave has set limits on how much can be withheld from wages

On-screen text: “The Department of Family and Medical Leave has set limits on how much can be withheld from wages”

For every $100 you make, your employer may withhold a maximum of 38 cents to contribute to Paid Family and Medical Leave

An image of a $100 bill appears on screen followed by 38 cents represented by an image of a quarter, a dime, and three pennies. On-screen text reads: “For every $100 you make, your employer may withhold a maximum of 38 cents”

Because the actual withholding rate will be determined by your employer,

Picture of an employee walking toward a door labeled “Office.” On-screen text reads: “Because the actual withholding rate will be determined by your employer,”

Speak with them if you have more questions about how Paid Family and Medical Leave will affect your wages    

A picture of an employee and a manager talking in an office. The manager sitting behind a desk and the employee sitting on the other side. On-screen text reads: “Speak with them if you have more questions”

Most Massachusetts workers are eligible for up to a combined 26 weeks of Paid Family and Medical Leave

On-screen text reads: “Most Massachusetts workers will be eligible for up to 12 weeks of paid family leave, And up to 20 weeks of paid medical leave”

Learn more about your Paid Family and Medical Leave benefits

Button links to: www.mass.gov/dfml

 

Feedback