• This page, Performance Recognition Program (PRP) 2023 Major Award Recipients and Recap, is   offered by
  • Human Resources

Performance Recognition Program (PRP) 2023 Major Award Recipients and Recap

The State House came alive with excitement on November 8th, when Governor Healey, Lieutenant Governor Driscoll, and their cabinet, along with the Executive Office for Administration and Finance, and the Human Resources Division hosted the 39th Annual Employee Performance Recognition Program awards ceremony. The day celebrated and acknowledged the exceptional achievements of over 80+ public servants from across the Commonwealth.

View our 2023 major award category winners below and visit our event photo gallery.

Table of Contents

Awards Ceremony Photo Gallery

Manuel Carballo Governor’s Award for Excellence in Public Service

About the Award

The Manuel Carballo Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Service is presented to state employees who selflessly personify a deep commitment to serving the people of the Commonwealth. This award was established in memory of Manuel Carballo who served as Secretary of Health and Human Services. His dedication to excellence in public service inspires us all to strive for greatness. The award, in his name, is given to state employees, or groups of employees, who demonstrate exemplary leadership, innovation and creativity.  

2023 Award Recipients:

  • Carol Boushell, EOHHS / Department of Developmental Services
  • Megan Chann, MBTA
  • Nahomi Carlisle, Bunker Hill Community College 
  • Laura Garofoli, Fitchburg State University 
  • Christopher Klaskin, EOHHS / Department of Developmental Services
  • Dana Varzan-Parker, EOE / Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
  • A&F Federal Funds Office and Coronavirus Relief Fund Finance Team, 
    Cross Secretariat: Team members from EOANF, EOHHS, Office of the Comptroller
    • Brendan Dutch, Dana Ellis, Heath Fahle, Kristin Lacroix, Pauline Lieu, Kate Mayer, Howard Merkowitz
  • Cottages at Shattuck - Building a Transitional Housing Community in 100 days, 
    Cross Secretariat: Team members from EOANF, EOED, EOHHS, and EOPSS
    • Jennifer Barrelle, Amy Bianco, Josh Cuddy, Jennifer Hoyt, Jack Keleher, Frederick Lima, Peter Ostroskey, Lauren Peters, Jeffrey Putnam, Ganesh Ramachandran, Paul Vigneau, Dan Walsh, Allen Wiggin, Steven Zeller
  • DCF Response Team to Newly Arrived Migrant Families Team, EOHHS / Department of Children and Families 
    • Hilda Acen, Maribel Acevedo, Ateinna Alicea, Marline Arana, Sean Aucoin, Lauren Blair, Odilis Catalina, Laura Crimmins, Maria Cruz, Melissa Davidson, Susan Keeling, Carolyn LeBlanc, Daniel Lewis, Maroli Licardie, Gloria Machado, Jose F. Monteiro, M.Ed., Amy Mullen, Ricky Newton, Roxanne Reynolds, Lissette Rodriguez, Jolanta Rumierz, Ingrid Smith, Melinda Stewart, Jasmin Taylor, Rachel Trant, Brian Trendell, Megan Tully, Jennifer Utley, Caitlin Weiss
  • Hunters Share the Harvest Team, EOEEA / Department of Fish and Game 
    • Chalis Bird, Nate Buckhout, Martin Feehan, Astrid Huseby, Andrew Madden, Emily Stolarski, Jason Zimmer

Governor Paul Cellucci Award for Leadership & Mentoring in State Government

About the Award

Governor Cellucci embodied what it meant to be a public servant who gave selflessly of himself while engaging others to embrace public service and instilling a philosophy of paying it forward.  The Award for Leadership and Mentoring in State Government, bearing his name, honors outstanding leaders in the area of mentoring in the workplace and the fostering of a supportive and learning environment amongst colleagues.   

2023 Award Recipients:

  • Adam Cogbill, Executive Office of Technology Services and Security
  • Keisa Davis-Rezendes, Bunker Hill Community College 
  • Kimberly Dwarika, MBTA
  • Agnes Lubega, EOHHS / Department of Public Health 
  • Andre Malcolm, EOHHS / MassHealth 
  • Yves Singletary, EOHHS / Department of Public Health
  • Vina Yung, Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development

Eugene H. Rooney, Jr. Public Service Award

About the Award

The Eugene H. Rooney, Jr., Public Service Award is presented to an employee or group of employees who selflessly personify a deep commitment to serving the people of the Commonwealth. This award was established to honor the memory of Gene Rooney, who spent the majority of his twenty-two years of public service as Deputy Personnel Administrator at the Human Resources Division. Gene strived to create both a learning and team-oriented environment; he personified creativity and innovation in public service. This award is given to those public employees who have demonstrated these ideals in the area of human resources development and training. 

2023 Award Recipients:

  • Michael Burns, Jr., Massachusetts Maritime Academy 
  • Lisa Pollack, Executive Office of Housing and Livable Communities

Commonwealth Equity in Governance Award

About the Award

Equity in Government consists of: the fair, just and equitable (a) management of public agencies, (b) development and implementation of public policy; and/or, (c) delivery of and access to state services.

The Commonwealth Equity in Governance Award is given annually to an employee or group of employees who have demonstrated commitment to and attainment of the principles of equity in one or more areas of government operations: human resources activity that promotes diversity and inclusion, procurement activity that promotes the participation of minority business enterprises and women business enterprises, policy development and/or implementation (including the development and implementation of regulations, program policies, and/or rules), and/or improving access and/or accessibility (physical or programmatic) to state programs or the delivery of state services.

2023 Award Recipients:

  • Lee Santos Silva, Bunker Hill Community College 
  • Liz Williams, MassDOT
  • SDO Cross Functional Team, EOANF /Supplier Diversity Office
    • Nani Assefa, Zelpha Bennett, Doreen Cameron, Wanda Colon-D'Angelo, Sam Gebremichael, Robert Keane, Amanda LaCroix, Lori Maggiacomo, Algeria Marsh, Xiomara Moreta, Katherine Thomas, Robert Williams

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.