Department of Mental Health Inpatient Study Commission

DMH Mental Health Inpatient Study Commission

Health and Human Services Secretary JudyAnn Bigby, M.D., appointed an independent 15-member Inpatient Study Commission to evaluate the Department of Mental Health (DMH) inpatient system; determine an appropriate inpatient capacity for DMH facilities; and recommend a plan to the Administration for consideration.

Led by Co-chairpersons James T. Brett and Marylou Sudders. Commission members completed their charge by holding public hearings across the state, reviewing numerous documents, data and hundreds of pages of testimony, and efficiently and expeditiously deliberated to produce this comprehensive report. The Commission's Report and Recommendations were submitted on June 30, 2009.

The recommendations are under review by DMH Commissioner Barbara Leadholm, Secretary Bigby and Governor Deval Patrick. In the coming weeks and months, the Administration will make decisions regarding the recommendations.

DMH Inpatient Study Commission Final Report and Recommendations

Commission Information

Meeting Agendas

Data and Information

Public Hearings

Meeting Minutes

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.