Massachusetts law about Baby Safe Haven Law

A compilation of laws and web sources on the law that lets you leave a baby up to 7 days old at a hospital, police department, or manned fire station.

Table of Contents

Massachusetts laws

7 days Up to 7 days old

MGL c.119, § 39 1/2. Baby Safe Haven Law.
Provides designated facilities in which a parent can voluntarily place a newborn up to 7 days old.

Web sources

Baby Safe Haven FAQs, Mass. Dept. of Children and Families.
Provides critical information for those who may receive a baby at a hospital, police station or fire station.

Baby Safe Haven, Mass. Chiefs of Police Association
Includes a link to the act and frequently asked questions written by the association

Contact

Phone

Within Massachusetts only

Within Massachusetts only

Online

Reference librarians online Chat with a law librarian 
Reference librarians via email masslawlib@gmail.com

Address

Administrative office (no law library at this location)
2 Center Plaza
9th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
Last updated: April 30, 2019
Feedback