News Massachusetts Board of Medicine Takes Disciplinary Action – 3/31/2022

Disciplinary action ordered at the March 31, 2022 meeting of the Board
  • Board of Registration in Medicine

WAKEFIELDThe Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine took disciplinary action against the medical licenses of Edgar W. Robertson, M.D., Diana N. Wood, M.D. and Laurence J. Cibley, M.D.

In a Consent Order, the Board admonished Dr. Edgar W. Robertson upon his agreement that he engaged in disruptive behavior with colleagues, more specifically  the use of unprofessional language both in and outside the emergency room.  Dr.  Robertson was first licensed to practice medicine in Massachusetts on August 22, 1974. Dr. Robertson currently practices medicine in Peabody.

The Board accepted Dr. Diana N. Wood’s resignation of her license to practice medicine. Resignation is a disciplinary action that permanently removes a physician from the practice of medicine. Dr. Wood was first licensed to practice medicine in the Commonwealth on May 27, 1992.  She last practiced medicine at Melrose-Wakefield Hospital and Tufts Medical Center.

The Board also accepted the resignation of Dr. Laurence J. Cibley’s right to renew his medical license.  Dr. Cibley was licensed in Massachusetts from August 15, 1980 until July 7, 2019.  He last practiced medicine in Biloxi, Mississippi.  Dr. Cibley is licensed to practice medicine in Texas.

The Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine licenses more than 40,000 physicians, osteopaths and acupuncturists.  The Board was created in 1894 to protect the public health and safety by setting standards for the practice of medicine and ensuring that doctors who practice in the Commonwealth are appropriately qualified and competent. The Board investigates complaints and determines sanctions. More information is available at, or you may contact the Board at


Board of Registration in Medicine 

The Board of Registration in Medicine is responsible for licensing, regulation, and discipline of Massachusetts physicians and acupuncturists.