Related to:

News Patrick-Murray Administration Extends Income Tax Filing Deadline to May 11 Due to Flooding for Residents in Those Counties Declared a Federal Disaster Area

  • Massachusetts Department of Revenue

Wednesday, March 31, 2010
Robert R. Bliss

Residents of Bristol, Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk and Worcester counties will get more time to file

In response to the IRS' tax deadline extension, Governor Deval Patrick today directed the Massachusetts Department of Revenue to allow residents in those counties to receive additional time to file their 2009 state tax returns in light of President Obama's declaration of seven counties in Eastern and Central Massachusetts as federal disaster areas.

The president's declaration prompted the Federal Internal Revenue Service to do the same earlier today.

The new filing deadline will be midnight May 11 for residents of Bristol, Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk and Worcester Counties.

For the latest information, please visit DOR's website at

IRS Notice

The areas shaded in dark blue on the map below show the Massachusetts counties declared federal disaster areas due to the recent storms and flooding.

Massachusetts Department of Revenue  

The Massachusetts Department of Revenue manages state taxes and child support. We also help cities and towns manage their finances.


Did you find the information you were looking for on this page? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
Tell us what you think