What vehicles are covered?
A vehicle is considered a lemon if it has a substantial defect that impairs your safety or your ability to drive it, or impacts its market value and the car has not been repaired after a reasonable number of attempts.The new car section of the Lemon Law covers:
- New cars, motorcycles, vans, or trucks purchased or leased in Massachusetts from a dealer for personal or family purposes
- Vehicles within the “term of protection” — 1 year or 15,000 miles of use from the date of original delivery, whichever is first
- Cars leased after July 1, 1997
If your car is eligible, you must be able to demonstrate specifically how the use, safety, or market value is substantially impaired by the defect. To prove the market value impairment, you must show that your vehicle is worth at least 10% less than it would be without the defect. The best way to prove this is by having your car appraised.
What isn't covered?
Your purchase or lease isn’t covered if:
- Your vehicle is outside the term of protection
- Your vehicle is a motor home
- Your vehicle was built primarily for off-road use
- Your vehicle is used primarily for business purposes
- The defects were caused by negligence, accidents, vandalism, or repair of the vehicle by a person other than the manufacturer or authorized agent
- Your vehicle was purchased out of Massachusetts