More about:

Five-Year Elevator Weight Tests

Weight tests are completed every five years for elevator types that require annual safety inspections.

Weight tests are scheduled at each of the five Office of Public Safety and Inspections (OPSI) Districts on a five-year cycle.  Please see the schedule below for the year that each district requires weight testing.

Elevator types that are now inspected biennially may not be due for an inspection in the year the corresponding district is being weight tested. These elevators will require a weight test at the next scheduled inspection after five years, regardless of the district's weight testing cycle.

Select the district below to see list of cities and towns for each office.

Office Starting Ending
Springfield January 1, 2016 January 1, 2017
Milford January 1, 2017 January 1, 2018
Boston A January 1, 2018 January 1, 2019
Boston B January 1, 2019 January 1, 2020
Tewskbury January 1, 2020 January 1, 2021



Did you find the information you were looking for on this page? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
Tell us what you think