Judiciary-Media Committee

The Supreme Judicial Court Judiciary-Media Committee was established to help foster good working relationships and to improve better understanding between the judicial branch and the media.

The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court Judiciary-Media Committee was established in 1995 to help foster good working relationships and to improve better understanding between the judicial branch and the media. The committee meets quarterly to discuss and address problems, if possible, incurred by the media in gaining access to court proceedings and documents. It also assists judges and court personnel with questions and concerns involving the media.

Co-chaired by Supreme Judicial Court Justice David A. Lowy and Rachelle G. Cohen of the Boston Globe Editorial Board, the Judiciary-Media Committee includes judges from the Appellate Courts and the Trial Court departments, clerk magistrates and registers, editors and reporters from newspapers statewide, radio and television producers and executives, attorneys and representatives from bar associations, representatives from the Massachusetts Judges Conference and the Flaschner Judicial Institute, and the court's Public Information Office.

Each meeting usually begins with a guest speaker, alternating between the judiciary and the media. Topics have ranged from issues pertaining to cameras in the courtroom, media coverage of high-profile trials, to access to court documents and proceedings.

The Judiciary-Media Committee has in the past produced, updated and distributed to judges, clerks, and the media guidelines regarding the public's right of access to judicial proceedings and records; has sponsored regional conferences for judges, clerks and the media; "Law School for Journalists" programs; and other such activities designed to promote better communication and understanding between the judiciary and the media.

Committee Members

Hon. David Lowy, co-chair, Associate Justice, Supreme Judicial Court
Kevin J. Claffey, First Assistant Clerk, Hampden Superior Court
Hon. Robert J. Cordy, emeritus member, Supreme Judicial Court
Katelyn Draper, Assistant Clerk, Essex County
Hon. Wilbur P. Edwards, Jr., Southeastern Housing Court
Hon. E. Susan Garsh, Superior Court, emeritus member
Hon. Randy J. Kaplan, Middlesex Probate and Family Court
Hon. Rudolf Kass (ret.), emeritus, Appeals Court
Hon. Stephen M. Limon, emeritus, Suffolk Juvenile Court
Hon. Paul LoConto, District Court, Worcester County
Hon. Keith Long, Land Court, emeritus member
Hon. Tracy-Lee Lyons, Boston Municipal Court
Cynthia Robinson-Markey, Legal Counsel to Chief Justice, Boston Municipal Court
Hon. David A. Mills, (ret.), emeritus member
Andrew P. Quigley, First Assistant Clerk, Hingham District Court
Christopher Reavey, Clerk-Magistrate, Franklin/Hampshire Juvenile Court
Hon. Janet Sanders, Superior Court

Hon. Patti Saris, U.S. District Court, District of Massachusetts

Rachelle Cohen, co-chair, Boston Globe Editorial Board
Robert J. Ambrogi, Executive Director, Massachusetts Newspaper Publishers Association
Mike Bello, Boston Globe, Deputy City Editor
Susan Bocamazo, Lawyers Weekly, Publisher
Gintautas Dumcius, Boston Business Journal, Digital Editor
David Hurlburt, Hearst Company, Executive Producer
Andy Metzger, MassInc., Reporter

Shira Schoenberg, Springfield Republican/MassLive, Reporter

Jonathan M. Albano, Esq., Bingham McCutchen, LLP
Robert Bertsche, Esq., Prince Lobel
Martin Healy, Legal Counsel, Massachusetts Bar Association

Robert Brink, Executive Director, Social Law Library
Jennifer Donahue, Public Information Office, Supreme Judicial Court
Erika Gully-Santiago, Public Information Office, Supreme Judicial Court

Mark Leccese, Associate Professor of Journalism, Emerson College
Joseph B. McDonough, Esq., Fellow, International Rule of Law Initiative, Center for Democracy and Development, University of Massachusetts, Boston
Mary Rafferty, Organizational Communications, Executive Office of the Trial Court