Massachusetts State Retirement Board Members (MSRB)

Meet the members of our board.


The State Board of Retirement is made up of 5 members. The Treasurer is member ex-officio and serves as Chairman. One member is appointed by the Treasurer. Two members are elected by current and active members of the State Employees' Retirement System. And one member is chosen by the other members of the Board.


Treasurer and Receiver General Deborah B. Goldberg, Chair Ex-Officio
Treasurer Goldberg was elected to office in November, 2014.

Patricia Deal, Appointed Member
Ms. Deal is the retired Treasurer of the Massachusetts Clean Water Trust. She was first appointed in 2010. Ms. Deal was reappointed to the board in February 2016. 

Francis Valeri, Elected Member
Mr. Valeri is the current President of the Mass Retirees Association representing over 52,000 members. He is retired from State government after 38 years of service, with the Public Employee Retirement Administration Commission (PERAC), the state pension oversight agency, as well as many years with the state legislature. He was elected to the Board for a three-year term beginning January 2017.

Theresa McGoldrick, Esq., Elected Member
Ms. McGoldrick is an attorney for the Massachusetts Department of Revenue, Child Support Enforcement Division. She currently serves as President of SEIU/NAGE Unit 6, representing over 3,500 members statewide. Ms. McGoldrick was first elected to the Board in 2004.

Christopher Condon, Chosen Member
The Chosen Member is a member who shall not be an employee, a retiree, or official of the Commonwealth and shall be chosen by the other four for a term of three years. Mr. Condon is Legislative Director for SEIU Local 509. Mr. Condon began his Board service in 2003.


Tell us what you think