This page, MassDOT Board of Directors membership, is offered by

MassDOT Board of Directors membership

The MassDOT board is comprised of eleven members who are all appointed by the Governor with one designated as the chair.

Jamey Tesler (Chair) was appointed Secretary of the Massachusetts Department of Transportation in 2021.

Timothy King is a Detective Sergeant for the Waltham Police Department, joining the department as a patrolman in 1992, and currently serving as President of the Massachusetts Police Association. He has also served as Attorney/General Counsel for the Massachusetts Coalition of Police since 2007 and was previously a Corrections Officer for the Massachusetts Department of Corrections. King is a graduate of Waltham High School, earned a Baccalaureate Degree from Western New England College, Juris Doctorate from the Massachusetts School of Law and is a member of the Massachusetts Bar. He has served on the Curriculum Advisory Board of Middlesex Community College, the Massachusetts Police Training Committee Board, and the Massachusetts Coalition of Police Executive Board. He was a member of the Massachusetts Transportation Working Group and Vice President of the Greater Boston Labor Council.

Chrystal Kornegay has served as the executive director of MassHousing since February 2018. Before joining MassHousing, Chrystal served as the Undersecretary of Housing and Community Development for the Commonwealth. Prior to that, she was the President and Chief Executive Officer of the community development corporation Urban Edge, and a project manager for The Community Builders. Kornegay is a graduate of the Executive Education Program at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government, and holds a Master’s Degree in Urban Planning from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a Bachelor in Urban Planning from Hunter College. Chrystal serves on the MassDOT Board of Directors and the Fiscal Management and Control Board that currently oversees the MBTA. She was appointed January 25, 2019.

Brian Lang currently serves as President of UNITE HERE Local 26, Boston's hotel and food service union. Brian has spent a total of 17 years representing the union's 7,000 members, starting as organizing director and eventually being elected as president in 2011. Before joining the UNITE HERE Local 26 team, he was involved as a union organizer for SEIU Local 285. Brian's previous work experience as a meatpacker and a bellman has given him a strong understanding of the needs of hotel and food service employees, which he uses to advocate for workers' rights.

Dean Mazzarella has served as the Mayor of Leominster and Chairman of the Leominster School Committee for the past 22 years. As Mayor he has focused on fiscal stability, economic development, and improving the quality of life in Leominster. The Mayor also has served as the Management representative for the state's Joint Labor Management Committee for the past 16 years, successfully resolving labor/management contract disputes across the Commonwealth. He also serves on the Montachusett Metropolitan Planning Organization. Prior to his election, Mayor Mazzarella served as a Leominster Police Officer for 10 years. He is a small business owner, operating Central Flag & Flagpole for more than 30 years.

Robert Moylan, Jr. served the last 21 years as the Commissioner of the Department of Public Works and Parks for the City of Worcester, overseeing a $90 million operating budget, $45 million capital budget and 400 employees responsible for the city’s water, traffic, maintenance, waste, engineering and recreational activities. During that time he was selected as a Top Ten public works official from over 26,000 public works professionals. Prior to his appointment as Commissioner, Moylan held various other technical and managerial roles in the Department. Moylan is a Registered Professional Engineer and Land Surveyor, receiving a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Massachusetts in addition to postgraduate work at Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Kathleen M. Murtagh, P.E. brings to the Board more than 28 years of civil and geotechnical engineering experience in a broad range of civil engineering projects. She has experience in projects related to transportation, tunnels, pipelines, buildings, retaining structures, water and wastewater treatment plants, landfills, tanks, waterfront structures, recreational facilities, and geothermal systems. She currently serves as Director of Tunnel Redundancy for the Metropolitan Tunnel Redundancy Program for the MWRA. Her experience extends to alternative delivery methods including design build, construction management at risk, and program management of various project types including site development and facilities, transportation, infrastructure, water front structures, pipelines and tunnels. She earned her B.S in Civil Engineering from the University of New Hampshire and her Master’s in Civil Engineering from Virginia Tech.

Vanessa Otero is the Chief Operating Officer at Partners for Community. She has led strategic planning, grant writing, program evaluation and risk management efforts, in addition to overseeing $70 million in public and private grants and contracts.  Otero was previously Director of the North End Campus Coalition, where she was responsible for developing and implementing community-based programming to address health indicators in Springfield. Otero has a bachelor’s degree in Women’s Studies from Smith College, a master’s in Public Administration from the University of Massachusetts, and was a Massachusetts Institute of Technology Springfield Fellow in Urban Planning in 2012. Otero has played an active role in community organizations and continues to serve as part of many boards and institutions, including as a board member of Sisters of Providence Health Systems/Mercy Hospital, Regional Employment Board, Brightwood Development Corporation, Massachusetts Convention Center Authority, Veritas Preparatory Charter School, and New England Farm Workers’ Council. She also serves as Commissioner of Springfield Water and Sewer and as a founding member of the Puerto Rican/Latino Leadership Council and the Healing Racism Institute of Pioneer Valley.

Betsy Taylor (Vice Chair) is the former Director of Finance and Treasury at Massachusetts Port Authority, where she played a critical role in budgeting, financial planning, treasury management, and project financing for over 35 years. Taylor established the Massport Treasury Department, prepared major authority-wide financing strategy, and led Massport’s re-entrance to the bond market. She previously worked in budget management and administration at University of Massachusetts, Smith College, and Lesley College. Taylor earned her BA graduating cum laude from Oberlin College, and her MBA from Stanford University. She lives with her husband in Needham and that they have two grown sons.

Monica Tibbits-Nutt is the Executive Director of the 128 Business Council where she has worked since 2010, advising communities in the 128 Corridor in transit planning and overseeing the operation of 12 shuttle routes with nearly half a million in annual ridership. Tibbits-Nutt also has experience with the MBTA, where she served as a Transportation Planning Consultant to the MBTA Advisory Board, and as Executive Director and Transportation Planner for TransitWorks, providing research evaluation for the MBTA and Secretary of Transportation. She holds a B.S. from the University of Southern Indiana and a Masters of City and Regional Planning from The Ohio State University.