offered by
related to

Apply for a check casher license

Anyone who engages in cashing checks, drafts, or money orders for more than $ 1.00 per item in Massachusetts must be licensed by the Division of Banks (DOB).

Division of Banks

Phone

Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm.

Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm.

Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Use this number if you are hearing impaired.

The Details of Apply for a check casher license

What you need for Apply for a check casher license

All applications for company or branch licenses must be filed with the DOB through NMLS.

When applying for a check casher license, you must demonstrate that there is a public need for the check casher in the area where you will be operating.

The DOB recommends reviewing all applicable laws, regulations, and regulatory bulletins regarding check cashers before you submit a license application.

Fees for Apply for a check casher license

Name Fee Unit
License fee $1,000 per license
Investigation fee $300 per license
Credit report fee $15 per control person
FBI criminal background check $36.25 per owner(s) and control person(s)

How to apply Apply for a check casher license

All check casher license applications are submitted online using NMLS. All supporting documents must be mailed to the DOB.

If you are associated with a company, it is important to check in with your company before creating or completing a record in NMLS.

Paper license applications are no longer accepted.

Mail documents to the DOB:

Massachusetts Division of Banks

Loan Originator Licensing

1000 Washington Street, 10th Floor

Boston, MA 02118

More info about Apply for a check casher license

All fees collected through the NMLS are nonrefundable.

Contact for Apply for a check casher license

Address
Main Office
1000 Washington Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02118-6400
Phone

Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm.

Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm.

Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Use this number if you are hearing impaired.

Fax
(617) 956-1599

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

Feedback