Division of Banks (DOB)

The Division of Banks (DOB) is the chartering authority and primary regulator for financial service providers in Massachusetts. DOB's primary mission is to ensure a sound, competitive, and accessible financial services environment throughout the Commonwealth.

Contact Us


Main Office
1000 Washington Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02118-6400


Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm.

Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm.

Open Monday through Friday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm. Use this number if you are hearing impaired.


(617) 956-1599

Who we serve

The DOB supervises nearly 170 state-chartered banks and credit unions and over 10,000 non-depository licensees doing business in Massachusetts. The supervision of these entities allow us to implement and enforce consumer protection laws while providing consumers the information needed to make informed financial decisions.

Non-depository institutions doing business in Massachusetts supervised by the DOB include:

  • Mortgage lenders
  • Mortgage brokers
  • Mortgage loan originators
  • Consumer finance companies
  • Money service businesses
  • Debt collectors
  • Loan servicers 

Learn more about the DOB, the departmental units, and the Commissioner of Banks

Recent news & announcements from Division of Banks

Upcoming Events from Division of Banks

No upcoming events scheduled