The State Organization Index provides an alphabetical listing of government organizations, including commissions, departments, and bureaus.
Top-requested sites to log in to services provided by the state
From area codes 339, 617, 781, and 857, or from outside Massachusetts
From all other Massachusetts area codes
For people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing (in Massachusetts)
If the vehicle is uninsured or if the owner decides to keep possession of the vehicle, the owner must apply for a Salvage Title. State law prohibits the operation of the vehicle until it has passed a salvage inspection.
Once the insurance company deems the vehicle to be a total loss, the owner must assign the Title to the insurance company. If there is a lien on the vehicle and the Title is being held by a lienholder, the insurance company will send the owner an Authorization for Payoff of a Salvage Vehicle form* to complete. This form acts as the reassignment of Title.
*The Authorization for Payoff of a Salvage Vehicle form is only to be used when there is an outstanding loan and the lienholder is in possession of the Title. If there was no loan, or if the loan has been satisfied, the vehicle owner must sign the vehicle over to the insurance company by completing the Assignment of Title section on the back of the Title.
To apply for a Salvage Title, see details below.
Within 10 days of the declaration of a vehicle as a “total loss” (for insured) or date of occurrence which caused it to be a total loss (for uninsured), you must apply for a Salvage Title. Mail the following documents to the RMV's Title Department:
Registry of Motor Vehicles
Attention: Title Department
PO BOX 55889
Boston, MA 02205-5889
Once a vehicle with a Salvage Repairable Title has been repaired, the vehicle must pass a salvage inspection. This inspection is not a safety inspection. The purpose of the inspection is to determine if the vehicle or any of its parts are stolen.
Once a Salvage Title has been issued in Massachusetts or in any other state, the Salvage Title and Salvage Inspection process as stated in Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90D Section 20D must be completed regardless of the age of the vehicle.
Please allow 7 to 10 business days after receipt of the application for the Salvage Title to be issued and mailed.