Log in links for this page
Make an estate tax payment
Contact for Make an estate tax payment
Estate Tax Unit
The Details of Make an estate tax payment
How to pay Make an estate tax payment
After you file an estate tax return with MassTaxConnect, you can make your Massachusetts estate tax payments by:
- Credit or debit card
- A 2.3% convenience fee applies.
- Electronic funds transfer from a checking or savings account.
After you file an estate tax return, please make out your check to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Be sure to include the decedent's full name and Social Security number in the memo portion of the check.
Send your completed Form M-706 and any Massachusetts estate tax payment to:
Massachusetts Estate Tax Unit
P.O. Box 7023
Boston, MA 02204
More info for Make an estate tax payment
The estate tax is a transfer tax on the value of the decedent's estate before distribution to any beneficiary.
For estates of decedents dying in 2006 or after, the applicable exclusion amount is $1,000,000. Future changes to the federal estate tax law have no impact on the Massachusetts estate tax.
Payment of the estate tax is due 9 months from the date of the decedent's death.