District Court Appellate Division jurisdiction and membership

Learn about the Division and its members.

Table of Contents

Jurisdiction of the Appellate Division of the District Court

The Appellate Division of the District Court Department hears appeals from certain District Court civil actions, including actions for money damages, summary process cases, and mental health proceedings. The Appellate Division is divided into 3 geographic districts: Northern District (for Essex and Middlesex counties, and Chelsea District Court); Western District (for Berkshire, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, and Worcester counties); and Southern District (for Barnstable, Bristol, Dukes, Nantucket, Norfolk, and Plymouth counties). The Boston Municipal Court has its own Appellate Division. 

The procedure for appeal in civil actions to the Appellate Division is governed by the District/Municipal Courts Rules for Appellate Division Appeal (Dist./Mun. Cts. R. A. D. A.). 

In addition to appeals from civil actions, the Appellate Division’s jurisdiction extends to appeals in civil motor vehicle infraction cases; in civil infraction cases (see G.L. c. 277, § 70C); in victim compensation actions under G.L. c. 258C (see Dist./Mun. Cts. Supp. R. Civ. P. 151); from summary process appeal bond orders (see G.L. c. 239, §§ 5 and 6); from the denial of a fee waiver based on indigency (see G.L. c. 261, § 27D); from the denial of a petition for relief from disqualification from owning a firearm on the basis of a civil commitment (see G.L. c. 123, §§ 35 and 36C[d]); and from civil commitments under G.L. c. 123, § 35

Appellate Division judges

Five District Court judges are assigned to each district of the Appellate Division. You can find a list of the Appellate Division Members here.



24 New Chardon St.
Boston, MA 02114