Indian Affairs

Indian Affairs fundamental role is to assist Native American individuals, tribes and organizations in their relationship with state and local government agencies and to advise the Commonwealth in matters pertaining to Native Americans.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts' Commission on Indian Affairs (MCIA) was created by the legislature in 1974. The Commission is governed by M.G.L. Chapter 6A: Section 8A.

Table of Contents

Commission Members

Commission on Indian Affairs
100 Cambridge St., Suite 300
Boston, Massachusetts 02114

John “Jim” Peters, Jr, Executive Director

Burne Stanley, Administrative Assistant

Commission Members:

  • Aaron M. Gonzales, North American Indian Center of Boston & Suffolk County
  • Gail A. Hill, Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe and Barnstable & Plymouth Counties
  • Tashanna Carter, Nipmucs and Worcester & Middlesex Counties
  • Troy W. Phillips, Bristol & Norfolk Counties
  • Rhonda K. Anderson, Western Massachusetts
  • Michael D. Wagner, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head/Aquinnah


Tuition and Scholarship Information

Native American Resource Information

Additional Resources

Contact   for Indian Affairs


Please listen for phone menu options for EOHLC divisions

Kevin Connor, press secretary


Main Office
100 Cambridge St, Suite 300, Boston, MA 02114

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.