This page, Mass. General Laws c.176G § 6B, is offered by

Mass. General Laws c.176G § 6B

Retroactive claims denials for behavioral health services

This is an unofficial version of a Massachusetts General Law. For more information on this topic, please see law about health insurance.

Table of Contents

Updates

 Added by St.2019, c. 41, § 58, effective July 1, 2019.

(a)

For the purposes of this section, the following words shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly requires otherwise:

“Behavioral health services”, as defined in section 1 of chapter 175, or “services”.

“Provider”, (i) a mental health clinic or substance use disorder treatment program licensed by the department of public health under chapters 17, 111, 111B or 111E; or (ii) a behavioral, substance use disorder or mental health professional who is licensed under chapter 112 and accredited or certified to provide services and who has provided services under an express or implied contract or with the expectation of receiving payment, other than co-payment, deductible or co-insurance, directly or indirectly from the commission or other entity.

“Retroactive claims denial”, as defined in section 1 of chapter 175.

(b)

An insurer or other entity shall not impose a retroactive claims denial for behavioral health services on a provider unless: (i) less than 12 months have elapsed from the time of submission of the claim by the provider to the insurer or other entity; (ii) the insurer or other entity has furnished the provider with a written explanation of the reason for the retroactive claims denial and, where applicable, a description of additional documentation or any other corrective action required for payment of the claim; and (iii) where applicable, the insurer or other entity responsible for payment allows the provider 30 days to submit additional documentation or to take any other corrective action required for payment of the claim.

(c)

Notwithstanding subsection (b), a retroactive claims denial may be allowed after 12 months if: (i) the claim was submitted fraudulently; (ii) the claim, or services for which the claim was submitted, is the subject of legal action; (iii) the claim payment was incorrect because the provider was paid or the insured has already paid for the services identified in the claim; or (iv) the services identified in the claim were not delivered by the provider.

(d)

If a retroactive claims denial is imposed because the claim payment is subject to adjustment due to expected payment from a payer other than the insurer or other entity with which the insurer contracts to provide or manage health care services, including mental health and substance use disorder services, the insurer or other entity shall notify the provider not less than 15 days before imposing the retroactive claims denial. The provider shall have 12 months from the date of denial to determine whether the claim is subject to payment by a secondary insurer; provided, however, that if the claim is denied by the secondary insurer due to the insured’s transfer or termination of coverage, the insurer shall allow for resubmission of the claim.

Contact

Phone

Within Massachusetts only

Within Massachusetts only

Online

Reference librarians online Chat with a law librarian 
Reference librarians via email masslawlib@gmail.com

Address

Administrative office (no law library at this location)
2 Center Plaza
9th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
Last updated: July 1, 2019
Feedback