Members of the Special Commission on Local and Regional Public Health

Learn more about the members of our Commission. Updated as of December 6, 2018.

The following members were instrumental in drafting the key recommendations outlined in the 2019 blueprint. Members of the Special Commission of Local and Regional Public Health include:

  • 4 representatives of Executive Branch agencies
  • 4 appointees by legislative leadership
  • 8 appointees by the Governor
  • 9 representatives of named organizations including the Massachusetts Public Health Regionalization Working Group, each of the 6 member organizations of the Coalition for Local Public Health, the Massachusetts Municipal Association, and the Massachusetts Taxpayers Foundation

Five subcommittees (Data, Standards, Structure, Workforce Credentials, and Finance) were formed to review and make recommendations to the Commission.

Executive Branch Members

Department of Public Health Commissioner Monica Bharel
Executive Office of Administration and Finance Sean Cronin
Department of Environmental Protection C. Mark Smith
Department of Agricultural Resources Lorraine O’Connor

Appointments by Legislative Leadership

Senate President Senator Jason M. Lewis
Senate Minority Leader Senator Ryan Fattman
Speaker of the House Edward Cosgrove, designee of Representative Denise Garlick
House Minority Leader Representative Hannah Kane

Appointments by the Governor

Research/Academic Institution Justeen Hyde
Community Health Center Maria Pelletier
Hospital System David McCready
Workforce Development Charles Kaniecki
Municipality > 50,000 Sharon Cameron
Municipality 5,000-50,000 Vacant
Public Health District (at least one town <5,000) Phoebe Walker
At Large Carmela Mancini

Named Organizations

Massachusetts Municipal Association Kevin Mizikar
Massachusetts Taxpayers Foundation Eileen McAnneny
Massachusetts Public Health Association Bernard Sullivan
Massachusetts Health Officers Association Sam Wong
Massachusetts Association of Health Boards Cheryl Sbarra
Massachusetts Environmental Health Association Steve Ward
Massachusetts Association of Public Health Nurses Terri Khoury
Western Massachusetts Public Health Association Laura Kittross
Massachusetts Public Health Regionalization Working Group Harold Cox

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.