- Department of Conservation & Recreation
Media Contact for DCR Announces the Start of the Quabbin Fishing Season
Troy Wall, Press Secretary
Belchertown — The Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) today announced that the 2018 Quabbin Reservoir Fishing Season will open on Saturday, April 21, 2018, at 5:00AM. Fishing will continue to be permitted on the reservoir’s shores, and all three boat launch sites (Area I/Gate 8 off Route 202 in Belchertown, Area II/Gate 31 off Route 31 in New Salem, and Area III/Gate 43 off Route 32A in Hardwick) will be fully available for public use. Additionally, the boat launch areas will be open seven days a week at 6:00AM (with the exception of opening day) throughout the upcoming fishing season, which concludes on Saturday, October 20, 2018. Contained within the Quabbin Reservoir are 27 species of fish, 17 of which are sought by anglers. During the spring season lake trout, landlocked salmon, smallmouth bass, and white perch are often caught.
“The Quabbin Reservoir serves as an incredible resource for the people of Massachusetts by not only delivering exceptionally clean drinking water for over 2.5 million Commonwealth residents, but also providing unique opportunities for our anglers,” said Department of Conservation and Recreation Commissioner Leo Roy. “The Baker-Polito Administration urges everyone to get outside and enjoy the state’s excellent outdoor recreational opportunities.”
Vehicle and trailer parking fees are $8 per day; however, Quabbin Season Parking passes can be purchased at all three boat launch areas for $50 for the year or $25 for seniors over 62 with proof of age. Also, passes can be purchased for $25 for individuals with handicapped placards. While private boats can be launched on the Quabbin Reservoir for fishing only, they must first meet boat specification regulations and have an intact Quabbin Boat Seal affixed to the trailer. Boat owners who do not have a Quabbin Boat Seal can make a DCR boat inspection and decontamination appointment through the Quabbin Visitor Center. Furthermore, boat rentals for fishing only are available on a first come-first serve basis at all three boat launch areas. The cost for a boat and motor rental is $40 per day with a $6 per vehicle parking fee. A Massachusetts Fishing License, a Sporting License, or a Quabbin Fishing License is required to rent a boat and to be on the water. One-day fishing licenses are available, as well.
Out of public safety and security concerns, all boats, trailers, and/or vehicles on DCR property must be attended. Any unattended boats, trailers, and/or vehicles will not be permitted and may be subject to fines, towing, or both. For further information regarding fishing at the Quabbin Reservoir, please visit the DCR’s website or call the Quabbin Visitor Center at (413) 323-7221.