offered by

Section 8 NED -Designated Housing and One-year Mainstream Program

The Designated Housing (DSG) program and the One-Year Mainstream Housing Program (MS1) provide Section 8 tenant-based vouchers to very low-income non-elderly disabled families and individuals.

Program Guidelines and Information

This program is an integral part of the Commonwealth’s housing continuum that provides permanent housing for persons with disabilities and are collectively referred to as Non-Elderly Disabled  (NED) vouchers.

How it works:

  • The NED programs provide Section 8 tenant-based vouchers to non-elderly disabled families and individuals.
  • NED vouchers are issued to eligible households selected from the standard HCV waiting list.
  • All conventional Section 8 HCVP program requirements apply.

Who is eligible

  • At least one person in the household must be disabled.
  • The disabled household member must be the head of household, co-head or spouse.
  • A household where a child is the only family member with a disability is not eligible for this program.

Application process:

  • Applicants may apply directly to the DHCD Section 8 waiting list through any one of its regional administering agencies.


  • Up to 800 NED vouchers are distributed by DHCD throughout the Commonwealth.

For further information:

  • Please contact the Bureau of Federal Rental Assistance at (617) 573-1150.