Apply for an Initial EMT, Advanced EMT, or Paramedic Certification

You may apply for Massachusetts Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) certification at all levels online or by mail. We recommend applying online using the eLicensing system.

Table of Contents

Before you apply

Before applying for Massachusetts EMT certification at any level (EMT-Basic, Advanced EMT or EMT-Paramedic), you must hold certification from the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) at the level for which you are applying.

What you need:

Complete application must include all the following documents, and you should be prepared to upload to your online application:

  1. Current BLS CPR Card
  2. Current ACLS Card (Paramedic only)
  3. Signed and notarized CORI form

Application fee (see below)


The initial application submission fee is $150. The certification fee must be paid using credit/debit card or eCheck. Credit/Debit card payments will be subject to a 2.35% fee. eCheck (ACH) payments do not have a fee. Returned payments incur a $15 fee (including returns for insufficient funds, wrong account number and credit card chargeback).

How to apply

The typical processing time is 3-4 weeks for a complete online application.

Before you can apply online, you must create an account to access eLicensing.

To create an account:

  1. Go to the Health Professions Licensing Portal
  2. Click the “Create Account” button
    1. If you have an existing EMT record, whether current or expired, please link your account to your certification history.
      1. Select “Manage My Licenses and Applications” and then “Link License/Registration to my Account.”
        1. Select your license type from the “License Type” dropdown menu; and
        2. Enter your license number in the “License Number” field.
          1. Please ensure you enter the correct MA EMS certification number with the prefix letter (E – EMT Basic, A – Advanced EMT, P – EMT Paramedic).
          2. You will be asked to provide your SSN and DOB for confirmation
  3. Once you have registered (and linked, if applicable), log in to your account and you will be asked to select the certification you are applying for.
  4. Once submitted, the typical processing time is 3-4 weeks for a complete online application to be processed. Please ensure you submit all required documentation and explanations as applicable.

For additional instructions, please visit Health Professions Licensing System User Guide for information on how to get started.

Out of State EMS Certification

If you currently, or have previously held certification or licensure as an EMT or other healthcare provider in another state or jurisdiction, you must complete a verification of certification. You can find the form at State verification of EMS licensure and/or certification | (DOCX)

Please note: The Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS) no longer issues paper certifications or paper certification renewal reminders.  OEMS will use email to communicate renewal reminders and important changes in statute, regulations and policies. Failure to provide and update a working email address will prevent you from receiving these important updates. 

Please visit the OEMS eLicensing FAQs webpage for additional information.

Key Actions   for Out of State EMS Certification

Additional Resources   for Out of State EMS Certification

Help Us Improve  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.