Apply for a Bonus on behalf of a Deceased Veteran

Contact our office first to make sure the veteran has not already received the bonuses they were entitled to. You can reach us at 617-367-9333 Ext. 859, email us at veteransbonus@tre.state.ma.us or submit an inquiry (see below).
Submitting your application online may result in a quicker response. Most applicants receive their checks 4-6 weeks after submitting completed materials, including supporting documentation.

Veterans' Bonus Division Contact

The Details of Apply for a Bonus on behalf of a Deceased Veteran

What you need for Apply for a Bonus on behalf of a Deceased Veteran

To apply for the Massachusetts Veterans’ bonus for a deceased servicemember, the active service must have fallen between one of the specified war time service dates. (click on links to view individual bonus payments)

All applicants will need:

  • A completed application - see the "How to apply" section below. 
  • The Veteran's DD214 or DD1300
    • Active service shall not include active duty for training in the Army National Guard, Air National Guard, or reserves.
  • The Veteran's Death Certificate
  • Proof of the Veteran's Massachusetts Residency
    • The veteran must have been 6 months domicile in Massachusetts immediately prior to entry into the Armed Forces or prior to activation for Reserve and National Guard personnel.
    • Documentation can be high school diploma/yearbook picture if entered within a year of graduating high school, W2, excise tax, lease/mortgage dated before veteran if available.
    • If residency documentation is not available our office can research residency.

 

Payments are paid to the heirs-at-law, below is the order of precedence for payment(s). 

Note:  If there is more than one heir-at-law; payments can be made in portions as the State Treasurer determined using the same below order of precedence for payments.

  1. Spouse and children
  2. Mother or father
  3. Brother or sister
  4. Other dependents

 

How to apply Apply for a Bonus on behalf of a Deceased Veteran

  1.  Complete Deceased Servicemembers Application
  2. Upload a copy of the servicemember’s DD214 (showing block 24: character of service & service dates) or DD1300 if died while on active service.
  3. Upload document showing that the servicemember lived in Massachusetts before entering the military, if available 
    • Accepted documents (high school diploma, w2, lease, etc.) 
    • If you do not have residency documentation our office can research your residency before entering the military for you
  4. The servicemembers death certificate
  5. Submit Application 
  6. Contact the Veterans’ Bonus Division if you have questions or need assistance completing the application.

 

  1. Complete and sign a Veterans' Bonus Deceased Application
  2. Provide DD214 (showing block 24: character of service & service dates) or DD1300 if died while on active service.
  3. Provide documentation showing veteran lived in Massachusetts prior to entering the military, if available
    • Accepted documents (high school diploma, w2, lease, etc.) 
    • If you do not have residency documentation our office can research your residency before entering the military for you
  4. The servicemember’s death Certificate
  5. Contact the Veterans’ Bonus Division if you have questions or need assistance completing the application.
  6. Mail application and documents to:

 

Veterans’ Bonus Division 
1 Ashburton Place, 12th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

 

Next steps for Apply for a Bonus on behalf of a Deceased Veteran

  1. Approval/Denial

    You will receive an email when the application is approved or denied. 

  2. Questions/Status

    The Veterans’ Bonus Division will contact you if they have any questions. You can contact the Veterans’ Bonus Division if you have questions or for a status update. Please email veteransbonus@tre.state.ma.us if you have questions about the application and/or to verify receipt of your application and pertinent materials.

    Please do not submit documents via email since they may contain confidential personal information.

    Submit additional documentation

  3. Receive bonus

    Payments take approximately 4-6 weeks to process and deliver, via mailed check. Unfortunately, we do not have direct deposit services available.

  4. Appeal a denial

    You will receive a letter regarding your denied bonus detailing the reason(s) the application was not accepted.

    You are able to appeal the Division’s decision. You must send a written request for an appeal within 60 days from the date of receiving the denial.

More info for Apply for a Bonus on behalf of a Deceased Veteran

Online Application Process

This bonus application is divided into four sections. This form allows for you, at the end of each section, to continue on to the next section (by clicking Next at the bottom of each page) or to save the application information entered and resume later (by clicking Save and Resume Later at the bottom of each page).

If you want to save a partial application to finish in the future, you must provide a valid email address. You will receive an email message containing a link to resume your application. Please note this link is valid for only 30 days; otherwise, you will need to start a new application.

Downloads for Apply for a Bonus on behalf of a Deceased Veteran

Contact for Apply for a Bonus on behalf of a Deceased Veteran

Feedback