Apply for a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP)
Registry of Motor Vehicles
What you need
You must meet the following requirements in order to be eligible for a commercial learner's permit (CLP):
- Be at least 18 years of age for an intrastate (Massachusetts only) transport CLP
- Be at least 21 years of age for an interstate (all states) transport CLP
- Have a Class D license that will be valid for the entire length of the commercial permit
- Proof of lawful permanent residency in the U.S.
- Have a valid Social Security number
- Be a resident of Massachusetts
- Not hold a driver's license in any other state
- Be clear of outstanding obligations to any state
- Meet minimum commercial driver's license medical standards
- Pass the CLP general knowledge exam
- Pass the combination vehicle exam, if applying for a Class A CLP
- Pass either the hazardous material (H) endorsement exam or the passenger (P) endorsement exam, if applying for a Class C CLP
Effective March 26, 2018, to get or renew any driver's license, ID card, or learner's permit, you need documentation showing U.S. citizenship or lawful presence as required by federal and state law. Visit mass.gov/id for more information.
- Decide what type of driver's license you want – a REAL ID Massachusetts Driver’s License (valid for federal purposes) or Standard Massachusetts Driver’s License (not valid for federal purposes). Go to our website at mass.gov/id to decide
- Complete your application online
- Bring your required identification and completed application to an RMV Service Center
|Permit Application Fee||$30||each|
|CDL Endorsement Fee (if taken on the same day)||$10||each|
|CDL Endorsement Fee (if taken on a different day)||$30||each|
How to apply
The learner's permit exam is given on an automated testing system on a walk-in basis up to 2 hours before the service center's closing time.
You will have to take one or more knowledge tests to obtain your CLP, depending on what class of license and what endorsements you need. The CLP learner's permit knowledge tests and endorsements include:
|Exam||Time allowed (minutes)||No. of questions on exams||No. of correct answers needed to pass|
CLPs expire 180 days from the date of issue and can be renewed one time for an additional 180 days for no fee. If your learner's permit expires after the one renewal period and you want to get a new permit, you need to present the required sources of identification, take and pass the written tests, and pay the $30 written test fee plus the fee for any endorsements.
You may only operate a vehicle for the same class permit that you hold. You must be accompanied by a licensed operator who holds a valid license with the correct class and endorsements for the vehicle you are operating. Your permit must be with you while you are operating the vehicle.
Drivers of commercial vehicles over 10,000 lbs. must carry a valid U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) approved medical certificate. Also, drivers transporting 15 or more passengers or carrying placarded hazardous materials, regardless of vehicle size, are required to carry a DOT medical certificate. The only exception from this certification is state or municipal employees using a state or municipal vehicle.
You must have a CDL to operate:
- Any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 lbs. or more.
- A combination vehicle with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 lbs. or more, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 lbs.
- A vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver).
- Any size vehicle which requires hazardous material placards or is carrying material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 CFR part 73. Federal regulations through the Department of Homeland Security require a background check and fingerprinting for the Hazardous Materials endorsement.