The State Organization Index provides an alphabetical listing of government organizations, including commissions, departments, and bureaus.
Top-requested sites to log in to services provided by the state
From area codes 339, 617, 781, and 857, or from outside Massachusetts
From all other Massachusetts area codes
For people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing (in Massachusetts)
To get a driving school license, you need to:
For a complete list, see the schedule of fees.
To get a professional driving school license:
Registry of Motor Vehicles Driver Licensing DivisionP.O. Box 55889 Boston, MA02205-5889
Pay all required fees.
Pass an inspection of the driver education premises by the Registrar.
Submit a copy of the program of instruction that meets the program standards. At the time of application, you must submit a written course curriculum. The curriculum must include standards as established by the Registrar. The curriculum must include a description of each of the skills you will each. It must also include an explanation of the method and sequence by which you will teach them.
You must submit written proof of insurance as required by 540 CMR 23.04(3)(c).
You must provide a performance bond, acceptable to the Registrar in the amount of:
$10,000 for a Driver Education Provider with one location
$25,000 for a Driver Education Provider with up to three locations
$50,000 for a Driver Education Provider with more than three locations
The Registrar will hold the bond to provide reimbursement to students and/or parents in the event that:
The program ceases to function and fails to provide, or
Complete the contracted instruction.
Each applicant (and any other person who has a financial interest in the business) is subject to a criminal record check.
If you are applying as a business, see 540 CMR 23 for additional requirements.