Apply for an entertainment industry waiver

With an approved waiver, minors involved in entertainment, theatrical, and film productions may work beyond the time and hour restrictions in the child labor laws.
Applications for waivers must be received at least 1 week before the work is to begin.

Child Labor Waiver Unit

The Details of Apply for an entertainment industry waiver

What you need for Apply for an entertainment industry waiver

Completed applications and a $100 bank check or money order (made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts) must be received by the Child Labor Waiver Unit before a waiver may be issued.  Applications must be received at least 1 week before the work is to begin.  Applicants must provide complete information regarding each minor for whom they are seeking a waiver.  If there are issues with your waiver, you will be contacted as soon as possible. Incomplete applications will not be reviewed or considered; application fees are non-refundable.

The application requires the following information:

  • name, address, telephone number, and contact person for the company/organization that will employ the child;
  • name of play, movie or production;
  • total number of minor(s) included on application;
  • confirmation of company’s valid workers’ compensation insurance policy for all Massachusetts employees;
  • the name and date of birth and for each minor;
  • the name(s) and signature(s) of each minor’s parent(s) or guardian(s);
  • the name of the parent or guardian who will be on site with each minor;
  • the dates and locations (full address) of rehearsals and performances;
  • name of on-set tutor for any minor (kindergarten through 12th grade) who will be working more than 3 days (This requirement applies for minors who are home schooled.  If a minor has a High School Equivalency Testing Certificate (formerly GED), this requirement is waived if copy of certificate is included with the waiver application.); and
  • signed physician’s certification (the Physician's Certificate of Health must be signed within 12 months prior to the date the waiver application is presented to the Fair Labor Division).

Entertainment Industry Child Labor Waiver Application Instructions 

Entertainment Industry Child Labor Waiver Application

If your waiver is granted, you should receive a copy of the waiver 2 to 4 days prior to the filming or production.

 

Fees for Apply for an entertainment industry waiver

Name Fee Unit
Child labor waiver application $$100.00 per application

How to apply Apply for an entertainment industry waiver

If you are submitting your application by U.S. Mail, please send the form and payment to:

Child Labor Waiver Unit, Fair Labor Division
Office of Attorney General Maura Healey
P.O. Box 6303
Boston, MA 02114

If you are submitting your application by Federal Express/UPS, please send the form and payment to:

Child Labor Waiver Unit, Fair Labor Division
Office of Attorney General Maura Healey
100 Cambridge Street, 12th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Contact for Apply for an entertainment industry waiver

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

Feedback