Boat, ATV, and Snowmobile Registration Bureau
What you need
Documents you'll need:
- Bill of Sale that includes the seller's name, address and signature.
- If you purchased your boat or recreational vehicle from a business, the bill of sale must be written up on the company's letterhead.
- Proof that you have paid sales tax: complete sales tax Form ST-6 or Form ST-6E. (Please see notes below concerning the ST-6E form.)
- You can pay this 6.25% tax online and print out your receipt.
- If your off-highway vehicle or snowmobile is new, you will need a copy of the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin.
- The vehicle identification number (VIN), which is a series of 17 characters found on the frame of the vehicle.
- A completed Registration & Titling Application
- Money order or check payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts for the required fees. Cash, debit, and credit cards are not accepted.
Important information about sales tax and the ST-6E form:
- Sales tax is due on the 20th day of the following month of date of purchase. Massachusetts sales tax is 6.25% of the total purchase price. If you pay your sales tax late, you will be subject to interest and penalties. Questions about sales tax should be directed to the Department of Revenue at 1-800-392-6089.
- If you have previously registered your motorcycle, car, or truck with the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (DOT), and you are registering your off-road vehicle with us, too, then you only need to submit a copy of your Massachusetts DOT certificate of registration or title as proof that you have paid sales tax. We no longer require an ST-6E (sales tax exemption form) for this type of registration.
|Resident ATV or snowmobile registration||$44||2 Years|
|Non-resident ATV or snowmobile registration||$33||1 Year|
|Vintage Snowmobile||$44||each (One time fee)|
|Transfer of Registration||$16.50||each|
|Dealer Permit (ATV or snowmobile)||$55||each (One Year)|
|Dealer Registration||$44||each (Two Years)|
How to register
Bring the documents listed above, as well as your check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, to one of our 5 registration offices (locations listed at the top right of this page).
Mail in your required documents to one of our registration offices, along with a check for the appropriate fee made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.