How to Apply for an Accountancy License

Instructions for Certified Public Accountants with less than 4 Years Experience.

Board of Public Accountancy

Online

To receive written instructions on how to submit an application, renew your license, change your name or address, request a duplicate license, or obtain a verification of license, please email the Board at: Email Board of Public Accountancy at accountingboard@mass.gov

The Details   of How to Apply for an Accountancy License

What you need   for How to Apply for an Accountancy License

Effective June 1, 2019, all applicants are required to submit an application online through the Division of Professional Licensure’s ePLACE Portal. Please see the CPA Application Checklist for further information. Please also read the instructions below before proceeding to ePlace.

The Board of Public Accountancy exclusively issues a full reporting license to individuals seeking to practice public accountancy in Massachusetts.

As of May 19, 2017, Massachusetts is no longer a two-tiered state and the non-reporting license is no longer offered.

Applicants seeking initial licensure, and reciprocal applicants licensed and practicing for less than 4 years, please review the information below for a summary of the requirements for a license.

If you have been licensed for more than 4 years, please submit a reciprocal license application following the criteria for reciprocal license applicants.

Summary of Requirements for licensure:

  1. Applicants must provide proof of passed Uniform CPA Examination scores after meeting the 150 of semester hours from a nationally or regionally accredited institution see the: Corrected CA Interim Policy-New Exam Extensions.  Exams must be completed within a 30-month rolling period.  Education evaluation is completed through the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).
  2. A Letter addressed to the Board of Public Accountancy attesting under the pains and penalties of perjury either one of the following by an acceptable reference as stated in 252 CMR 2
    1. Full- or part-time experience in public accounting that extends over a period of no less than one year and no more than three years and includes no fewer than 2,000 hours of service.

    2. Or full- or part-time experience in non-public accounting that extends over a period of no less than three years and no more than nine years and includes no fewer than 2,000 hours of experience.

  3. Three-character reference letters dated and addressed to the Board of Public Accountancy.
  4. 2X2 Passport size photo.
  5. CORI Permission Form.

 

Fees   for How to Apply for an Accountancy License

Initial license fee - $175

Reciprocal license - $499

How to apply   How to Apply for an Accountancy License

After reading the requirements above, please complete the licensing process in the ePlace licensing portal.

More info   for How to Apply for an Accountancy License

Requirements for a Public Accountancy License.

Questions about the requirements for licensure or the application process in general, may be directed to the Board office by calling 617-701-8635 or by e-mail accountingboard@mass.gov

For technical assistance with the ePLACE portal, please call the ePLACE Help Desk Team at (844) 733-7522 or (844) 73-ePLAC or e-mail ePLACE_helpdesk@state.ma.us.

Contact   for How to Apply for an Accountancy License

Address
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118
Online
To receive written instructions on how to submit an application, renew your license, change your name or address, request a duplicate license, or obtain a verification of license, please email the Board at: Email Board of Public Accountancy at accountingboard@mass.gov

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.
Feedback