(New) Motor Vehicle Registered Damage Repair Shops

Massachusetts requires all motor vehicle repair shops be registered.

Division of Standards

The Details of (New) Motor Vehicle Registered Damage Repair Shops

What you need for (New) Motor Vehicle Registered Damage Repair Shops

Please note: Cash is no longer accepted as a form of payment.

Motor Vehicle Damage Repair Shop Information

This Motor Vehicle Damage Repair Shop Application is 2 pages plus the Repair Shop Bond.

Information on completing the application:

1. Include a registration fee of $450 dollars, check or money order made out to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

2. Include a $10,000 dollar surety bond or letter of credit on the form approved by the Director of the Division of Standards.

      Bonds must be executed and sealed by bonding company. No Xerox copies will be accepted.

3. Obtain two letters of recommendation.

4. Send a copy of the declaration page of your company’s workmen’s compensation insurance policy.

       Policy number and effective dates must be current and legible.

5. A letter from your licensed appraiser stating that he/she is employed by you.

       Said letter must bear an imprint of the appraiser’s seal.      

6. Sign the application and bond form.

Please note: Section 22 of Chapter 208 of the Acts of 2012 listed below pertaining to the registration of Motor Vehicle Glass Repair Shops.

SECTION 22. Notwithstanding any general or special law to the contrary, a registered motor vehicle repair shop, as defined in section 1 of chapter 100A of the General Laws, performing motor vehicle glass repair on the effective date of this act shall not be required to register with the division of standards as both a registered motor vehicle repair shop and a registered motor vehicle glass repair shop.

Fees for (New) Motor Vehicle Registered Damage Repair Shops

Name Fee Unit
Motor Vehicle Damage Repair Shop $450 Every 3 years

How to apply (New) Motor Vehicle Registered Damage Repair Shops

Fee $450.00

We only accept payment by money order or check (personal,  business or bank check). Make checks payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

We do not accept any other form of payment including cash and credit/debit cards.

Mail Application and Payment to:

Division of Standards

One Ashburton Place, Room 1115

Boston, MA 02108

 

Fee $450.00

We only accept payment by money order or check (personal, business or bank check). Make checks payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

We do not accept any other form of payment including cash and credit/debit cards.

Walk-in service:

Division of Standards

One Ashburton Place, Room 1115

Boston, MA 02108

Same day registration is available provided the applicant has submitted all required documents and fees.

 

Next steps for (New) Motor Vehicle Registered Damage Repair Shops

Complete the application and get required documents to mail in.

More info for (New) Motor Vehicle Registered Damage Repair Shops

Requirements for Motor Vehicle Damage Repair Shops.

Record Keeping

  1. Every registered motor vehicle damage repair shop shall keep, or cause to be kept, a proper record of every motor vehicle that enters or leaves its place of business for repair. A proper record shall include, but not be limited to the following:

    1. A description of the motor vehicle (year, color, model, mfg.)

    2. The vehicle identification number (VIN)

    3. The date the vehicle was received

    4. The name and residence of the person from whom the vehicle was received

    5. A signed authorization for the work to be performed on the vehicle. Work authorization can be signed by the owner or the owner’s authorized representative

    6. A description of all major components parts, motor, transmission, and body parts, and parts for the interior the repair; and a reference to or copy of the purchase invoice for those parts.

    7. A description of the work performed.

  2. All shops must also keep records of purchases of all major components, parts, motors, transmissions, body parts and interiors.

  3. All records shall be kept for a period of 18 months.

    Advertising

  1. No registered motor vehicle shall offer or give any rebate gift, prize, premium, bonus, fee or any other tangible or monetary thing to an insured, or any other person not in the employ of the repair shop, as an inducement to have the repair made at the repair shop.

  2. Every registered shop must include the registration number in all advertisements. Exceptions: (a) Advertisements placed prior to January 1, 1989 and (b) Single-line listings in the yellow or white pages of a telephone directory.

  3. When two or more motor vehicle repair shops are separately identified in a single advertisement, the advertisement must include the registration number of each shop.

    Penalties

    Any person violating any of the provisions of Chapter 100A may be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. Such fines may be imposed by the Director of Standards in a hearing or in a civil or criminal action brought by the Attorney General. Violation of any of the provisions of Chapter 100A shall constitute a violation of Chapter 93A.

     

Contact for (New) Motor Vehicle Registered Damage Repair Shops

Address
One Ashburton Place, Room 1115, Boston, MA 02108
Fax
(617) 727-5705

Fax

Feedback