Log in links for this page

Renew your Hoisting Engineer License

You are eligible for renewal up to 60-days prior to your license expiration date
Allow 5 weeks for application processing.

Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Division of Occupational Licensure

Online

If looking for a status update on a license renewal, please put your full OPSI license number, including prefix, in the subject line. Email Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Division of Occupational Licensure at OPSI-info@mass.gov

The Details of Renew your Hoisting Engineer License

What you need for Renew your Hoisting Engineer License

Renewal Cycle:

Hoisting licenses must be renewed every 2 years. Licenses are eligible to be renewed 60 days prior to their expiration. At 60-days prior to expiration, the Office of Public Safety will send out a copy of your renewal form by email and by mail. You may utilize these forms to apply or complete an application through the online portal.

Renewal Requirements:

Submit all of the following items to renew a hoisting license. 

  • A legible copy of a valid driver's license, driver's license learner's permit, or Massachusetts ID issued by the Registry of Motor Vehicles.
  • A copy of a DOT Medical Certificate, Massachusetts Intrastate Medical Waiver, or ANSI/ASME B30.5 Medical Qualifications Form. For more information, see the Medical Requirements page.
  • Continuing Education Certifications for each restriction renewed. For more information, see the Education Requirements page.
  • Either authorization for the Massachusetts RMV to share your Driver's License photo with the Office of Public Safety and Inspections or a 2x2 passport-style photo.
  • An application processing fee of $60.00. Payment can be made in the online application or, for mail applications, in the form of a check or money order made out to the “Commonwealth of Massachusetts". This processing fee is non-refundable. 

Online applications are encouraged. 

If you are a service member on active duty, you may keep your license valid for up to 90 days after discharge under the VALOR Act. For information on keeping your license active, contact the OPSI office at OPSI-info@mass.gov.

Fees for Renew your Hoisting Engineer License

Name Fee Unit
License renewal $60 each (flat-fee not dependent on # of restrictions renewed)

How to renew Renew your Hoisting Engineer License

Log in or create an account and complete your online renewal.

60 days prior to your license's expiration date, OPSI will mail a customized renewal form to the address listed on your license and also email a copy of the renewal form to your listed email address. Mail renewals may be completed by filling out either of these forms and mailing the application with all required documentation and a check or money order payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts, to:

P.O. Box 414376
Boston, MA 02241-4376

If you wish to request a new renewal form, complete the request a duplicate renewal form and email it to OPSI-info@mass.gov.

Check junk/spam folders in your email for Renewal Notice Enclosed after you send the request

 Licenses can also be renewed in person at:

1000 Washington St., Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118

Downloads for Renew your Hoisting Engineer License

Contact for Renew your Hoisting Engineer License

Address
Main Office
1000 Washington St, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118
Online
If looking for a status update on a license renewal, please put your full OPSI license number, including prefix, in the subject line. Email Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Division of Occupational Licensure at OPSI-info@mass.gov

Help Us Improve Mass.gov with your feedback

Feedback