More about:

Request personal information in RMV records

A copy of most Registry records is available to the general public, but access is limited by privacy laws and regulations.

Contact

Registry of Motor Vehicles

Phone

From area codes 339, 617, 781, and 857, or from outside Massachusetts

From all other Massachusetts area codes

For people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing (in Massachusetts)

The Details

What you need

To make a request for personal information request, you will need:

If you wish to obtain "highly restricted" information such as Social Security number, photo image, or medical information, the form will also need a notarized signature of the person whose information is being requested.

Fees

Name Fee Unit
RMV computer record request $5 each

How to request

Mail the completed form, applicable fee, and photocopy of your identification to:

RMV Court Records Department

P.O. Box 55889

Boston, MA 02205-5889

More info

Allow sufficient time for processing. The RMV will send the records to the address provided on your application.

 

Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) Penalties

18 USC § 2723 provides that anyone who knowingly obtains, discloses, or uses personal information from a motor vehicle record for a purpose not permitted under 18 U.S.C. §2721, shall be liable to the individual to whom the personal information pertains, including:

  • an award of the greater of actual damages or liquidated damages of $2500 for each violation
  • punitive damages upon proof of willful or reckless disregard of the law
  • reasonable attorneys fees and other litigation costs
  • such other equitable relief as the court may order

Anyone requesting the disclosure of personal information who misrepresents his identity or makes a false statement in connection with any request for personal information with the intent to obtain personal information in a manner not authorized by law shall be subject to criminal prosecution, which may include a fine of not more than $5000 or imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for not more than one year, or both.

Downloads

Contact

Phone

From area codes 339, 617, 781, and 857, or from outside Massachusetts

From all other Massachusetts area codes

For people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing (in Massachusetts)

Feedback

Tell us what you think