Request a driving record

A driving record is a complete look at a driver's license holder’s driving career in Massachusetts.

Registry of Motor Vehicles


Ask the RMV Ask the RMV 

The Details of Request a driving record

What you need for Request a driving record

Driving records include criminal and civil driving offenses for which you were either found guilty or responsible, plus discretionary and administrative license suspensions.

There are 2 types of driving records:

  • An unattested driving record, used for personal or informational purposes.
  • A true and attested driving record, used for official and/or court purposes and carries the signature of the Registrar of Motor Vehicles.

Fees for Request a driving record

Name Fee Unit
Driving Record - True and Attested Fee $20 each
Driving Record - Unattested Fee $8 each
Personal Driving History Fee $20 each
Certified Driving History Fee $20 each

How to request Request a driving record

To request a driving record online, you will need to provide the following:

  • Driver's license/learner's permit number
  • First and last name
  • Date of birth
  • Social Security Number (SSN) for the driver
  • Email address
  • Applicable fee

Unattested Driving Record
This record is primarily used for personal or informational purposes. This type of Driving Record can be accessed at the end of this transaction. The cost is $8.00. 

True and Attested Driving Record
This record is primarily used for official and court purposes as it is stamped with the signature of the Registrar. The RMV will mail this record, along with an explanatory cover letter, only to the record holder at the address that is on file in RMV records. The cost is $20.00.

You can request a copy of a driving record by mail by completing the Driving Record Request form and mailing the form and check or money order payable to MassDOT to:

Registry of Motor Vehicles
Court Records Department
P.O. Box 55896
Boston, MA 02205

Please allow 2 weeks to process and mail the record.

More info for Request a driving record


The RMV offers access to the Driver Verification Program (DVS) for employers that have a need to monitor their driver’s license statuses.  As part of the DVS program, you will have the ability to purchase an Unattested Driving Record.  For more information or to sign up for the DVS Program click here.

Third party request for personal information

If a third party is interested in obtaining a Registry record that contains personal information about another person, the requestor must certify that they are eligible to view the record. Eligibility details and required identification can be found in the Request for Personal Information in the RMV Records form.

The provisions of the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act, as amended, 18 U.S.C. §2721 et seq., govern the release of personal information from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). Highly restricted personal information under that law and may not be released to most requestors of information without the notarized written consent of the person to whom the information relates. The requestor must complete the Request for Personal Information in the RMV Records form and obtain a notarized signature of the person whose personal information is being requested on page 4 of the form.


Downloads for Request a driving record

Contact for Request a driving record

Ask the RMV Ask the RMV 

Help Us Improve with your feedback