Contact for Return a car purchased through a private party sale under the Lemon Law
Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation
The Details of Return a car purchased through a private party sale under the Lemon Law
What you need for Return a car purchased through a private party sale under the Lemon Law
There are different parts of the Massachusetts motor vehicle regulations and Lemon Laws that can protect you or provide recourse if you purchased your car from a private party seller. A private party seller is a non-licensed dealer who sells less than 4 cars in a 12-month period.
How to get Return a car purchased through a private party sale under the Lemon Law
You must be able to demonstrate that the car has a defect. You may want to bring it to be checked out by a trusted mechanic before you buy it.
- Seek out previous service records. These records may be able to show that the seller knew about a defect but didn’t disclose it.
- Be sure to have a proper title and bill of sale. All vehicles must have a certificate of title issued by the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) and must be properly endorsed at the time of sale.
- Have the vehicle inspected at a licensed Massachusetts Inspection Station. You may be entitled to a refund if your car fails inspection within 7 days of the date of purchase and the estimated costs of repairs exceed 10% of the purchase price.
If a private party seller refuses to cancel the contract within 30 days of the sale, consult with an attorney to determine whether to pursue the matter in court. Lemon Law arbitration is not available for private party sales.