Apply for a certificate of title

By law, you must apply for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle or trailer within 10 days of purchase.

Registry of Motor Vehicles

Online

The Details of Apply for a certificate of title

What you need for Apply for a certificate of title

To apply for a Massachusetts certificate of title only, you must provide the following:

  1. Completed application, RMV-1 application completed and signed by appropriate parties

  2. Proof of ownership

  3. Correct payment of $75 (plus applicable sales tax)

Fees for Apply for a certificate of title

Name Fee Unit
Certificate of Title Fee $75 each

How to apply Apply for a certificate of title

Present the following to an RMV service center:

  1. Completed application

  • RMV-1 application completed and signed by appropriate parties

    • Registration/Vehicle section

    • Owner section

    • Title section

    • Lienholder section, if applicable

    • Signature section (new owners and MA authorized dealer, if applicable)

    • Sales or use tax schedule – to be completed by Massachusetts dealers, if applicable

  1. Proof of ownership
  • Certificate of origin (new vehicles only), previous owner's certificate of title assigned to the new owner, dealer reassignment form (if applicable), or the previous registration and the bill of sale (if exempt from obtaining a title)

  • Must contain signatures of sellers and buyers

  • Mileage must be recorded in appropriate area

  1. Payment of $75 (plus applicable sales tax)

  • Cash, check, and money order accepted only
  • Proper sales tax
    • Sales tax must be paid by the 20th of the month following the date of purchase.  Late payment of sales or use tax subjects you to penalties and interest from the MA Department of Revenue (DOR)
    • For a private sale or for a sale from a dealer not registered with the MA DOR, sales tax will be calculated on sale price or NADA value (book value) of the vehicle, whichever is higher. For a dealer registered with MA DOR, the sales tax is calculated based on the sale price of vehicle
    • If exempt from sales tax, a completed sales tax exemption form is required

More info about Apply for a certificate of title

Any erasures, white-outs, or alterations on the proof of ownership or application will not be accepted. The application must be legible, and printed on white 8 ½” x 11” paper. The RMV will not accept colored paper or card stock.  The application must match the supporting documentation that you present.

Boats, ATVs, off-road vehicles, snowmobiles

The titling and registration of boats, off-road vehicles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), and snowmobiles is regulated by the Massachusetts Environmental Police Bureau of Registration and Titling and not by the Registry of Motor Vehicles. Please see the Massachusetts Environmental Police website for more information.

 

 

 

Downloads for Apply for a certificate of title

Contact for Apply for a certificate of title

Online

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

Feedback