This page, Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request, is part of
This page, Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request, is offered by

Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request

This page explains the process on how to resolve an out of state suspension by submitting a clearance letter.
It may take up to 3 business days from the date your request is submitted to review your documentation and respond.

Registry of Motor Vehicles

Online

Ask the RMV Ask the RMV 

The Details of Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request

What you need for Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request

A reciprocal suspension is a suspension that Massachusetts applies to your driving record pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 22(c) when your right to operate is suspended in another state for any reason.  You must serve, or otherwise resolve, the other state’s suspension before you may reinstate in Massachusetts.

Clearance from another state is required when the RMV is notified of a suspension, revocation, or cancellation in another state.

If your license is suspended, you will be required to pay a reinstatement fee.  Once all document requirements have been met and accepted, you will receive an email with a link to pay the reinstatement fee. 

You are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle until your right to operate is restored. You may check your status online by clicking here if you have a Massachusetts state driver’s license, permit, or state identification card. If you hold an out of state credential, please contact 857-368-8200 and ask to confirm your suspension has been reinstated.

To comply with this requirement, you must submit one of the following items:

  • A clearance letter from the other state showing that your driving privileges are no longer suspended/revoked/cancelled in that state   Please note this language may vary from state to state.
  • A Motor Vehicle Record or Driving Record from the other state showing the status of your driving privileges are not suspended/revoked/cancelled
  • A “Not the Same Person” Letter from the other state showing that the suspended/revoked/cancelled record in the other state does not belong to you
  • Documentation from the other state indicating that the suspended/revoked/cancelled record in the other state is the result of identity theft

*Documents provided cannot be more than 30 days old

To resolve any issues in another state and obtain a clearance letter, you must contact that state directly. Refer to the Jurisdiction Contact List below for a contact phone number.

Fees for Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request

There is no fee to upload your clearance document. However, you may be responsible for a reinstatement fee once the issue is resolved.

How to submit Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request

You can upload one of the following documents online.

  • A clearance letter from the other state showing that your driving privileges are no longer suspended/revoked/cancelled in that state   Please note this language may vary from state to state.
  • A Motor Vehicle Record or Driving Record from the other state showing the status of your driving privileges are not suspended/revoked/cancelled
  • A “Not the Same Person” Letter from the other state showing that the suspended/revoked/cancelled record in the other state does not belong to you
  • Documentation from the other state indicating that the suspended/revoked/cancelled record in the other state is the result of identity theft

More info for Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request

Duplicate submissions and premature status requests will delay the review of your documents.

Downloads for Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request

Contact for Submit an Out of State Reciprocal Suspension Clearance Request

Online
Ask the RMV Ask the RMV 
Feedback